Rosanna Raymond, Shark of the land, 2017. Photo: Jermaine Dean.

2019 Honolulu Biennial Announces Participating Artists

The Honolulu Biennial Foundation has announced the full artist list for the second edition of the Honolulu Biennial, “To Make Wrong / Right / Now.” Taking place from March 8 to May 5, 2019, the exhibition will be held at nearly a dozen locations on O’ahu, including the Ali’iolani Hale, the Bernice Pauahi Bishop Museum, the Foster Botanical Garden, and the Honolulu Museum of Art.

Curated by Scott Lawrimore and Nina Tonga, the biennial is named after the last lines of “Manifesto,” a poem by the participating Kānaka Maoli artist and poet Imaikalani Kalahele on how to right colonial injustices. “‘To Make Wrong / Right / Now’ can be read as a critical intervention into the biennial model and prevailing modes of the global art market,” Tonga said in a statement. “It can also be understood as a call for action, encouraging revisionist and corrective gestures. By foregrounding existent enactments of relationality and genealogy, the biennial is reimagined as a platform that empowers aesthetic sovereignty and the artistic freedom to make what is right for this place and time.”

The nineteen artists and artist groups from Hawaiʻi and the twenty-nine artists and artist groups from the Pacific, Asia, and the Americas participating in the event are as follows:

Pio Abad (Philippines | United Kingdom)
Bernice Akamine (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi)
DB Amorin (born Hawaiʻi; Azores, Sāmoa | United States)
Brook Andrew (Wiradjuri People | Australia)
Ei Arakawa (Japan | United States)
James Bamba (Chamorro | Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands)
Raymond Boisjoly (Haida | Canada)
Bradley Capello (United States | Hawaiʻi)
Central Pacific Time (Kānaka Maoli, United States | Hawaiʻi)
Abraham Cruzvillegas (Mexico)
DAKOgamay (Philippines, Netherlands)
Demian DinéYazhi ́ (Naasht’ézhí Tábąąhá, Tódích’íí’nii | United States)
Solomon Enos (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi)
Nicholas Galanin (Tlingit, Unangax̂ | United States)
Andy Graydon (born Hawaiʻi; United States)
Taloi Havini (Hakö People | Autonomous Region of Bougainville | Australia)
Hoʻoulu ʻĀina Artist Collective (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi)
ʻImaikalani Kalāhele (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi)
Florence Jaukae Kamel (Papua New Guinea)
Misaki Kawai (Japan)
Lee Kit (Hong Kong | Hong Kong, Taiwan)
Meiro Koizumi (Japan)
Matt Kubo (born Hawaiʻi; United States)
Kapulani Landgraf (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi)
Chenta Laury (United States | Hawaiʻi)
Ara Laylo (Philippines | Hawaiʻi)
Jeremy Leatinu’u (Ngāti Maniapoto, Sāmoa | Aotearoa)
Mario Lemafa (born Hawaiʻi; Sāmoa | United States)
Ellen Lesperance (United States)
Janet Lilo (Niue, Ngā Puhi, Sāmoa | Aotearoa)
Mata Aho Collective (Te Atiawa ki Whakarongotai, Ngāti Toa Rangātira, Ngāti Awa, Ngāi Tūhoe, Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāi Te Rangi, Rangitāne ki Wairarapa | Aotearoa)
Leland Miyano (Okinawa | Hawaiʻi)
Marianne Nicolson (Musgamakw Dzawada’enuxw | Canada)
Paul Pfeiffer (born Hawaiʻi; Philippines | United States)
Postcommodity (Cherokee, Mestizo | United States)
Rosanna Raymond, SaVAge K’lub (Samoa, Tuvalu | Aotearoa)
Natalie Robertson (Ngāti Porou, Clann Dhònnchaidh | Aotearoa)
Chiharu Shiota (Japan | Germany)
Bruna Stude (Croatia | Hawaiʻi)
Taupōuri Tangarō (Hawaiʻi)
Cory Taum (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi)
Maika’i Tubbs (Kānaka Maoli | United States)
Kalisolaite ‘Uhila (Tonga | Aotearoa)
Marie Watt (Seneca | United States)
Guan Xiao (China)
Amy Yao (United States)