News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Fellow Lindsay Packer’s False Fold, 2019. Courtesy of  Lindsay Packer.
Fellow Lindsay Packer’s False Fold, 2019. Courtesy of Lindsay Packer.

2019 NYFA Artist Fellowship Program Awardees Announced

The New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) has named the ninety-eight recipients of its artist fellowship program, which supports New York–based artists working in the fields of architecture and design, choreography, music and sound, photography, and playwriting and screenwriting. Ranging from the ages of twenty-five to seventy-six, the artists were selected from a pool of 2,542 applicants. Each fellow will receive a $7,000 unrestricted cash grant.

The organization has been distributing the prizes for thirty-three years with support from the New York State Council on the Arts (NYSCA). Since it was established in 1985, the initiative has awarded over $31 million to more than five thousand artists.

A complete list of the fellows is as follows: 

Architecture/Environmental Structures/Design Fellows

Ben Altman (Tioga)

Kenseth Armstead (Kings)

Shimon Attie (New York)

Sonya Blesofsky (Kings)

Yeju Choi & Chat Travieso - Yeju & Chat (Kings)

Blane De St. Croix (Kings)

Sun Young Kang (Erie)

Kyung-jin Kim (Queens)

Ming-Jer Kuo (Queens)

Lindsay Packer (Kings)

Christopher Robbins (Westchester)

Jeffrey Williams (Kings)


Choreography Fellows

Ephrat “Bounce” Asherie (New York)

Justina Grayman (Queens)


Dan Hurlin (New York)

Jaamil Olawale Kosoko (Kings)

Shamel Pitts (Kings)

Melinda Ring (New York)

Same As Sister (Queens)

Kelly Todd (Kings)

Rebeca Tomas (Westchester)

Donna Uchizono (New York)

Vangeline (Kings)

Adia Tamar Whitaker (Kings)


Music/Sound Fellows

ALMA (Kings)

Lora-Faye Åshuvud (Queens)

Bob Bellerue (Kings)

Leila Bordreuil (Kings)

Vienna Carroll (New York)

Veena Chandra (Albany)

David First (Kings)

Micah Frank (Kings)

Kate Gentile (Kings)

Michael Harrison (Westchester)

JSWISS (Kings)

Kenneth Kirschner (Kings)

Liz Phillips (Queens)

Elliott Sharp (New York)

Jen Shyu (Kings)

Ann Warde (Tompkins)

Washboard XT (New York)

Eric Wubbels (Queens)


Photography Fellows 

Manal Abu-Shaheen (Queens)

Yasser Aggour (Kings)

Gail Albert-Halaban (New York)

Aneta Bartos (New York)

Lucas Blalock (Kings)

Matthew Conradt (Kings)

Debi Cornwall  (Kings)

Robin Crookall (Kings)

Tim Davis (Dutchess)

Eli Durst (Queens)

Nona Faustine (Kings)

Jonathan Gardenhire (Kings)

Rachel Granofsky (Kings)

Carlie Guevara (Queens)

Daesha Devón Harris (Saratoga)

Gillian Laub (New York)

Jiatong Lu (Kings)

Diana Markosian (Kings)

Rehan Miskci (New York)

Rachelle Mozman Solano (Kings)

Erin O'Keefe (New York)

Paul Raphaelson (Kings)

Victor Rivera (Onondaga)

Jahi Lateef Sabater (Kings)

Nadia Sablin (Kings)

Karina Aguilera Skvirsky (New York)

Derick Whitson (New York)

Letha Wilson (Columbia)

Alex Yudzon (Kings)


Playwriting/Screenwriting Fellows

Rae Binstock (Kings)

Benedict Campbell (Bronx)

Sol Crespo (Bronx)

Amy Evans (Kings)

Stephanie Fleischmann (Columbia)

Robin Fusco (Queens)

Myla Goldberg (Kings)

Ryan J. Haddad (New York)

Susan Kathryn Hefti (New York)

Holly Hepp-Galvan (Queens)

Timothy Huang (New York)

Fedna Jacquet (New York)

Nicole Shawan Junior (Kings)

Serena Kuo (Kings)

Kal Mansoor (Kings)

Michael Mejias (Kings)

Joey Merlo (New York)

Rehana Lew Mirza (Kings)

Joél Pérez (New York)

Keil Troisi (Kings)

Nabil Viñas (New York)

Craig T. Williams (New York)