News Register for our weekly news digest here.

3Arts Awards $330,000 to Chicago Artists

The Chicago grant-making organization 3Arts announced that today, November 6, it will award $330,000 to nearly one hundred artists at a ceremony held at the Mid-America Club. In recognition of Chicago-based women artists, artists of color, and artists with disabilities working in the performing, teaching, and visual arts sectors, the nonprofit has selected ten artists who will receive $25,000: Alejandro T. Acierto, Tirtza Even, Ayriole Frost, Mabel Kwan, Will Liverman, Tara Mallen, Meida Teresa McNeal, Ginger Lane, Marcela Muñoz, and Juan-Carlos Perez. In addition, eighty-three artists will receive $1,000 grants as part of its new Make a Wave program, a peer-to-peer giving initiative in which awardees from the previous year choose this current year’s honorees.

“To say it is a privilege to award this many artists in a single year is a woeful understatement; it’s really a dream come true,” said Esther Grisham Grimm, executive director of 3Arts. “Ten years ago, we hoped that one day we would be able to do something like Make a Wave, and we kept that idea afloat until we could figure out how to make it happen. I can’t tell you how excited we are to have turned the reins over to all of the past 3Arts awardees to select the Make a Wave artists and to make that early dream of ours a reality in our anniversary year. I think doing more of what we do is the best possible way to celebrate ten years of supporting Chicago artists.”

Since its founding in 2007, 3Arts has helped artists by providing cash awards, project funding, residency fellowships, and professional development in support of the advancement of their careers. The organization has given more than $2.5 million to more than five hundred artists over the years.

The 2017 recipients of the Make A Wave initiative are:

Dance Artists
Rachel Bunting
Keyierra Collins
Leina`ala Dietmeyer
Jenn Freeman | Po’Chop,
Yoshinojo Fujima
Sarah Cullen Fuller
J’Sun Howard
Kevin Iega Jeff
Anita Fillmore Kenney
Erin Kilmurray
Stephanie Paul
Amaniyea Payne
Ricky Ruiz
Darling Shear Squire
Meghann Wilkinson
Sara Zalek

Music Artists
Renee Baker
Ivelisse Diaz
Lional “Brother El” Freeman
Deidre Huckabay
Ramah Jihan Malebranche
Alexandra Olsavsky
Jennifer Ortiz
Nikki Patin
Evaristo “Tito” Rodriguez
James Sanders
Rae Chardonnay Taylor
Eddie Taylor Jr.
Arianne Urban
Ayanna Woods
Sadie Woods

Teaching Artists
Keaton Bell
Devin Cain
Ricardo Gamboa
Eric J. Garcia
Nicole Marroquin
Allison Marie Spicer
Michael Covenant Watson
A. J. Wester

Theater Artists
Anna Bahow
J. Nicole Brooks
Lili-Anne Brown
Rinska Carrasco
Sydney Chatman
Kurt Chiang
Richard Costes
Jessie Fisher
Kirsten Fitzgerald
Emjoy Gavino
Isaac Gomez
Daniel Kyri
Kelly O'Sullivan
Christine Pascual
Ericka Ratcliff
Karen Rodriguez
BrittneyLove Smith
Vanessa Valliere
Mary Williamson
Jay Worthington

Visual Artists
Carris Adams
Rozalinda Borcilâ
Bethany Collins
Lauren Deutsch
Stephen Flemister
Kenyatta Forbes
Krista Franklin
Cameron Harvey
Sonja Henderson
Sam Kirk
Blake Lenoir
Nicole Malcolm
Yvette Mayorga
Christian Ortiz
Susannah Papish
David Richards
Josh Rios
Kellie Romany
Anna Soltys
Edra Soto
Eric Von Haynes
Rhonda Wheatley
Danièle Wilmouth
Debra Yepa-Pappan