News Register for our weekly news digest here.

3Arts Awards Give $250,000 to Chicago Artists

3Arts has announced the ten recipients of its ninth annual 3Arts Awards presented to women artists, artists of color, and artists with disabilities working in the performing, teaching, and visual arts in Chicago. The 2016 recipients are the dancers and choreographers Barak adé Soleil and Ayako Kato; singer/songwriter Jess Godwin and improvisational cellist Tomeka Reid; teaching artists Alexandria Eregbu and William Estrada; theater artist Jo Cattell and director Maggie Popadiak; and visual artists Candace Hunter and Aram Han Sifuentes. Each will receive an unrestricted $25,000 award. The Chicago-based nonprofit granting organization 3Arts has awarded more than $2 million to nearly four hundred Chicago artists.

The awards will be presented tonight by the 3Arts board of directors and the awards host committee at the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago. The ten winners were selected by a national jury, including independent curator Peter Taub; Joan Gray, former president of Muntu Dance Theatre; Mark Burford, associate professor of music at Reed College; Birdie Soti, executive director of Chicago Jazz Philharmonic; Carmen-Helena Téllez, professor of conducting at the University of Notre Dame; DeAnna Dodds Cummings, CEO and cofounder of Juxtaposition Arts; Miko Lee, executive director of Youth in Arts; Paul Teruel, director of community partnerships at the Center for Community Arts Partnerships; actor, playwright, and director Cheryl Lynn Bruce; Tim Rhoze, producing artistic director at Fleetwood-Jourdain Theatre; actress and writer Nikkole Salter; Patric McCoy, president and cofounder of Diasporal Rhythms; Gordon Sasaki, artist and Wynn Newhouse Awards founding administrator; and Eugene Tsai, the John and Barbara Vogelstein Curator of Contemporary Art at the Brooklyn Museum.