Andy Warhol Foundation Announces Winners of Art Writing Grants

The Andy Warhol Foundation has announced its first round of grants through its Art Writing Initiative, a three-year, three-million-dollar program for arts publications and writers. Eight nonprofit journals have received hundred-thousand-dollar capacity-building grants: Afterall, Art Papers, Bomb Magazine, the Brooklyn Rail, Cabinet, Esopus, Nka, and X-tra. Additionally, eighteen arts writers (or groups) were selected for grants ranging from eighty-five hundred to fifty thousand dollars to contribute to specific projects: Julia Bryan-Wilson, Susan Cahan, Eda Cufer, Catherine de Zegher, T. J. Demos, Grant Kester, Tan Lin, Mary Warner, Tom McDonough and Nancy Davenport, Judd Morrisey, Margaret Nelson, Molly Nesbit, John Peffer, Frances Richard, Reiki Tomii, Kenneth Wark, and Gene Youngblood. Full project descriptions as well as a 2007 grant calendar for individual writers can be found at