Four of the eight recipients of the 2017 Annenberg Fellowship. From left: Ruibo Qian, Khari Joyner, Emily Erb, and Samantha Hankey.

Annenberg Fellowship Recipients Announced for 2017, Its Final Year

The eight recipients of the Annenberg Fellowship, established by former US Chief of Protocol and philanthropist Leonore Annenberg, have been announced for 2017—the fellowship’s tenth and final year––reports Sopan Deb of the New York Times. Based at the University of Pennsylvania, the fellowship was established for a ten-year run to support emerging artists in a variety of disciplines. It has distributed $6 million to seventy artists over the last decade.

This year’s winners—artist Herman Aguirre, cellist Khari Joyner, actress Ruibo Qian, cellist Jia Kim, actor Ato Blankson-Wood, painter Emily Erb, ballet dancer Cassandra Trenary, and opera singer Samantha Hankey—will each receive a $50,000 grant. Previous recipients of the Annenberg Fellowship include ballet prodigy Misty Copeland, who became the first African American woman promoted to principal dancer in the American Ballet Theatre, and André Holland, who appeared in the 2016 film Moonlight, which won the Academy Award for Best Picture in 2017.