News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Timișoara, Romania.
Timișoara, Romania.

Art Encounters Biennial Announces Artists Participating in Third Edition

The Art Encounters Biennial has revealed the artist list for its third edition, which will take place across Timișoara, Romania, from September 20 to October 27. Curated by Maria Lind and Anca Rujoiu, the event will feature work by sixty local and international artists, including Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Halil Altındere, Forensic Architecture, Anne Low, Trevor Paglen, and Ana Maria Millán.

“Over the course of this edition of the Art Encounters Biennial, different thoughts and ideas will flow through artworks and practices,” Lind and Rujoiu said in a statement. Referencing the work of Nobel Prize–winner Herta Müller, they added: “Similar to the winds in Herta Müller’s novels, which take place in and around Timișoara and have different connotations, the winds of the biennial will bring various temperatures, atmospheres, and even substances. Winds blow through borders and translations, something well known in Timișoara’s Banat region, including the edges of visibility and invisibility. Another wind drives an attentiveness to craft and the work of the hand. A third wind stimulates independent publishing, personal collections, and other forms of self-organization.”

Programming related to the biennial, including talks, conferences, film screenings, workshops, and other events, began in January and will continue throughout the year. Among the institutions that will hold or help organize events in partnership with the biennial are the Banat National Museum, the Băița Textiles Museum, the Sever Bocu Press Museum in Jimbolia, West University of Timișoara, and the Cluj Cultural Center.

The complete artist list is as follows:

Lawrence Abu Hamdan

Dan Acostioaei

Halil Altındere

Anca Benera & Arnold Estefan

Michael Beutler

Irina Botea Bucan & Jon Dean

Pauline Boudry & Renate Lorenz

Filipa César & Louis Henderson

Kray Chen

Céline Condorelli

Collection Collective

Alexandra Croitoru

Chto Delat

Forensic Architecture

Aslan Gaisumov

Dora García

Ane Graff

Alma Heikkilä

Sandi Hilal & Alessandro Petti

Ane Hjort Guttu

Ho Tzu Nyen

Gülsün Karamustafa

Behzad Khosravi Noori

Gunilla Klingberg

Vilmos Koter

Zac Langdon-Pole

Matts Leiderstam

Anne Low

Virginia Lupu

Taus Makhacheva

Liliana Mercioiu Popa


Ana Maria Millán

Malgorzata Mirga-Tas

Naeem Mohaiemen


Tanja Muravskaja

Ciprian Mureșan

Joar Nango

Pınar Öğrenci

Ahmet Ögüt

The Otolith Group

Trevor Paglen

Gary-Ross Pastrana

Peles Empire

Lia Perjovschi

Thao Nguyen Phan

Agnieszka Polska

Ghenadie Popescu

Vandy Rattana

Bella Rune


Zhou Tao

Iulia Toma

Tur de Arhitectura

Mona Vătămanu & Florin Tudor

Anton Vidokle

Haegue Yang

Mădălina Zaharia


Želimir Žilnik