News Register for our weekly news digest here.

The new location of the Biennale de Lyon, the Les Usines Fagor. Photo: Blaise Adilon.
The new location of the Biennale de Lyon, the Les Usines Fagor. Photo: Blaise Adilon.

Biennale de Lyon Reveals Artist List for 2019 Edition

The fifteenth edition of the Biennale de Lyon, which will take place from September 18 to January 5, 2020, has named the artists participating in the event. Titled “Là où les eaux se mêlent,” which translates to “Where water comes together with other water”—a reference to a Raymond Carver poem—the exhibition will be led by artistic director Isabelle Bertolotti and the curatorial team at the Palais de Tokyo, comprising Adélaïde Blanc, Daria de Beauvais, Yoann Gourmel, Matthieu Lelièvre, Vittoria Matarrese, Claire Moulène, and Hugo Vitrani.

For the first time, the biennial will be staged at the former factory Usines Fagor, as well as at its usual location, the Musée d’Art Contemporain de Lyon. The artists will be invited to make site-specific works that draw on the factory’s legacy and architecture, in addition to its own socioeconomic context. The theme of the exhibition revolves around the concept of an ecosystem.

“Fantastic gardens, hybrid creatures, bouquets of epiphytic stories, synthetic fragrances and mythological machines, but also colors, crystals, songs, and infrasounds which could be intended for us humans as much as for our contemporaries: plants, animals, minerals, breaths and chemistries, waves and bacteria, are just some of the ingredients that make up the porous landscapes of this Fifteenth Lyon Biennale,” the curatorial team said in a statement. “This edition—a reflection of our collective curatorial approach, based on discussion and collegiality—seeks to nurture chance encounters and unexpected connections between artworks specially produced in collaboration with the vital forces of the metro area, the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region and the city of Lyon.”

The complete artist list is as follows:

Rebecca Ackroyd

Isabelle Andriessen

Jean-Marie Appriou

Felipe Arturo

Bianca Bondi

Malin Bülow

Bureau Des Pleurs

Stéphane Calais

Nina Chanel Abney

Gaëlle Choisne

Yu-cheng Chou

Morgan Courtois

Daniel Dewar and Gregory Gicquel

Khalil El Ghrib


Jenny Feal

Thomas Feuerstein

Julieta García Vazquez and Javier Villa De Villafañe

Petrit Halilaj

Dale Harding

Holly Hendry

Karim Kal

Bronwyn Katz

Sam Keogh

Lee Kit

Eva L’hoest

Mire Lee

Yona Lee

Renée Levi

Minouk Lim

Lyl Radio

Taus Makhacheva

Léonard Martin

Gustav Metzger

Nicolas Momein

Shana Moulton

Simphiwe Ndzube

Josèfa Ntjam

Fernando Palma Rodriguez

Le Peuple Qui Manque

Thao-nguyen Phan

Abraham Poincheval

Stephen Powers

Philippe Quesne

Marie Reinert

Megan Rooney

Pamela Rosenkranz

Ashley Hans Scheirl and Jakob Lena Knebl

Aguirre Schwarz

Stéphane Thidet

Nico Vascellari

Trevor Yeung

Pannaphan Yodmanee

Victor Yudaev

Mengzhi Zheng