News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Jota Mombaça, How old is suffering?,  2018. Photo: Anna Cerato/Biennale of Sydney.
Jota Mombaça, How old is suffering?, 2018. Photo: Anna Cerato/Biennale of Sydney.

Biennale of Sydney Names Artists Participating in Its 2020 Edition

The 2020 Biennale of Sydney has released the list of the ninety-eight artists and collectives—including several hailing from Afghanistan, Ecuador, Georgia, Nepal, and Sudan—that will be featured in its twenty-second edition. Titled “NIRIN,” meaning “edge,” and curated by artistic director Brook Andrew, the exhibition will take place across six sites: the Art Gallery of NSW, Artspace, Campbelltown Arts Centre, Cockatoo Island, the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia, and the National Art School.

“The urgent states of our contemporary lives are laden with unresolved past anxieties and hidden layers of the supernatural,” said Andrew. “‘NIRIN’ is about to expose this, demonstrating that artists and creatives have the power to resolve, heal, dismember, and imagine futures of transformation for re-setting the world. Sovereignty is at the center of these actions. I hope that NIRIN gathers life forces of integrity to push through often impenetrable noise.”

At a press conference in Little Bay, NSW, on the land of the Bidjigal and Gadigal clans, the biennial also revealed the launch of the programs NIRIN WIR—named after a phrase meaning “edge sky,” in reference to Andrew’s mother’s nation, the Wiradjuri people of central western New South Wales—and OUR PATH. In partnership with the Powerhouse Museum, NIRIN WIR will present a series of activations and collaborations with instituions and grassroots organizations such as the Blacktown Native Institution, the Parramatta Female Factory, and the Bankstown Poetry Slam. OUR PATH is an educational initiative that will engage with Australian children and young pepople.

The full list of participating artists is as follows:

Adrift Lab, Canada/Australia/United Kingdom

Tony Albert, Australia

Charlotte Allingham, Australia

Maria Thereza Alves, Brazil/Germany/Italy

Lhola Amira, South Africa

Joël Andrianomearisoa, Madagascar/France

ArTree Nepal, Nepal

Tarek Atoui, Lebanon/France

Sammy Baloji, Democratic Republic of Congo/Belgium

Denilson Baniwa, Brazil

Bankstown Poetry Slam, Australia

BE., Australia

Namila Benson, Papua New Guinea

Sissel M Bergh, Norway

Huma Bhabha, Pakistan/United States

Blacktown Native Institution, Dharug Nation (Australia)

Karim Bleus, Haiti

Anna Boghiguian, Egypt/Canada

Mohamed Bourouissa, Algeria/France

Breaking Bread, South Africa

Eric Bridgeman and Haus Yuriyal, Papua New Guinea/Australia

Tania Bruguera, Cuba

Vajiko Chachkhiani, Georgia/Germany

Club Ate: Justin Shoulder and Bhenji Ra, Australia

Colectivo Ayllu, Argentina/Chile/Ecuador/Spain/Venezuela

Victoria Santa Cruz (1922–2014), Peru

Randy Lee Cutler, Canada

Jose Dávila, Mexico

Demian DinéYazhi´ and R.I.S.E.: Radical Indigenous Survivance & Empowerment, United States

Karla Dickens, Australia

Léuli Eshrãghi, Australia

André Eugène, Haiti

FAFSWAG, New Zealand

Jes Fan, Canada/United States/China

First Dog on the Moon, Australia

Brian Fuata, Australia

FUNPARK Coalition, Australia

Nicholas Galanin, United States

Stuart Geddes and Trent Walter, Australia

Fátima Rodrigo Gonzales, Peru

Josep Grau-Garriga (1929–2011), Spain/France

Ramin Haerizadeh, Rokni Haerizadeh, and Hesam Rahmanian, Iran/United Arab Emirates 

Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Jordan/Lebanon

Aziz Hazara, Afghanistan

Lily Hibberd, Australia/France

Lucas Ihlein and Kim Williams, Australia

Iltja Ntjarra/Namatjira School of Art, Australia

Arthur Jafa, United States

Hannah Catherine Jones, United Kingdom

Aslaug Magdalena Juliussen, Norway 

Emily Karaka, New Zealand

Bronwyn Katz, South Africa

Kylie Kwong, Australia

Tarek Lakhrissi, France

Barbara McGrady, Australia

Ibrahim Mahama, Ghana

Stone Kulimoe’anga Maka, Tonga/New Zealand

Noŋgirrŋa Marawili, Darrpirra/Yirrkala (Australia)

Teresa Margolles, Mexico/Spain

Misheck Masamvu, Zimbabwe

Katarina Matiasek, Austria

Mayunkiki, Japan

John Miller and Elisapeta Heta, New Zealand

Jota Mombaça, Brazil

Mostaff Muchawaya, Zimbabwe

Prof Sir Zanele Muholi, South Africa

The Mulka Project, Yirrkala (Australia)

MzRizk, Australia

Elicura Chihuailaf Nahuelpán, Chile 

Paulo Nazareth, Brazil

S.J. Norman, Australia/Germany

Musa N Nxumalo, South Africa

Manuel Ocampo, Philippines

Erkan Özgen, Turkey

Parramatta Female Factory & PYT Fairfield, Australia

Taqralik Partridge, Norway/Canada

Rosana Paulino, Brazil

Laure Prouvost, France/Belgium/United Kingdom

Public Redress System, Australia

Reading Oceania, Australia

Lisa Reihana, New Zealand

Andrew Rewald, Australia/Germany

Shaheed/Witness/Kashmir, India/Kashmir

STARTTS (NSW Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture and Trauma Survivors), Australia

Adrian Stimson, Canada/Siksika Nation (Canada)

Anders Sunna, Sweden

Suohpanterror Sápmi, Finland/Sweden/Norway

Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers, Kainai First Nation (Canada)/Sápmi (Norway)

Latai Taumoepeau, Australia

Tennant Creek Brio, Australia

Warwick Thornton, Australia

Kalisolaite ‘Uhila, Tonga/New Zealand

Gina Athena Ulysse, Haiti/United States

Ahmed Umar, Sudan/Norway

Unbound Collective, Australia

Kunmanara Williams (1952–2019), Pitjantjatjara (Australia)

Luke Willis Thompson, New Zealand/Fiji/United Kingdom

Pedro Wonaeamirri, Melville Island/Andranangruwu, Paluwiyanga (Australia). Tribe: Milipurrulla, White Cockatoo. Dance: Jilarti, Brolga.