Boston’s Institute of Contemporary Art Names 2019 Recipients of James and Audrey Foster Prize

The Institute of Contemporary Art (ICA), Boston, has announced the winners of its 2019 James and Audrey Foster Prize: Rashin Fahandej, Josephine Halvorson, Lavaughan Jenkins, and Helga Roht Poznanski. Established in 1999, the award, formerly known as the ICA Artist Prize, was endowed with a $1 million gift by contemporary art collectors James and Audrey Foster in support of the ICA’s efforts to nurture and recognize Boston-area artists. The recipients will be given the chance to display major work in an exhibition, organized by curator Ruth Erickson, that will be on view at the ICA from August 21, 2019 to January 5, 2020.

“We are ever grateful to Jim and Audrey Foster for their inspired support of the ICA,” said director Jill Medvedow. “The James and Audrey Foster Prize Exhibition highlights the strength, dynamism, and depth of Boston’s arts community. We are eager to share with the public a broad range of talent in this important biennial showcase.”

Each iteration of the exhibition aims to highlight a new area of focus within Boston’s contemporary art practices. To select the participants, Erickson conducted studio visits with fifty artists living and working in the Boston area over the past year. Commenting on the process, she said: “This exhibition presents a sliver of the countless talented artists who have trained at and teach in Boston’s numerous art schools. I am humbled by the generosity of every artist I visited, and I thank each of them for sharing their time and work with me.”