Busan Biennale 2018 “Divided We Stand” posters designed by Kwon Joonho. Photo: Busan Biennale.

Busan Biennale Announces Artists Participating in Its Ninth Edition

The Busan Biennale has announced that sixty-five artists and collectives from thirty-four countries are participating in its upcoming edition, which will run from September 8 to November 11. This year’s cohort was selected by artistic director Cristina Ricupero, curator Jörg Heiser, and guest curator Gahee Park, in collaboration with an advisory board.

Titled “Divided We Stand,” the theme of the ninth edition revolves around the concept of split territories. The exhibition will take place at the Museum of Contemporary Art Busan and the former Bank of Korea in Busan. According to the biennial, the two venues reflect its theme. “At the newly opened museum, the main focus is the Cold War era and its uncanny return in the present, while at the former Bank of Korea building, alternate futurist scenarios will unfold, looking at our current state of being through the lens of science fiction.”

The list of participating artists is as follows:

Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme (Cyprus/US)

Bani Abidi (Pakistan)

Chantal Akerman (Belgium)

Dora Longo Bahia (Brazil)

Maja Bajevic (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Khaled Barakeh (Syria)

Yael Bartana (Israel)

Jean-Luc Blanc (France)

Oscar Chan Yik Long (Hong Kong)

Onejoon Che (South Korea)

Mina Cheon (South Korea)

Chin Cheng Te (Taiwan)

Sunah Choi (South Korea)

Phil Collins (UK)

Christoph Dettmeier (Germany)

Mauricio Dias & WalterRiedweg (Brazil/Switzerland)

Smadar Dreyfus (Israel)

Eva Grubinger (Austria)

Joana Hadjithomas & Khalil Joreige (Lebanon)

Ramin & Rokni Haerizadeh & Hesam Rahmanian (Iran/Iran/US)

Flaka Haliti (Kosovo)

Kiluanji Kia Henda (Angola)

Andy Hope 1930 (Germany)

Hsu Chia-Wei (Taiwan)

Young Zoo Im (South Korea)

Joo Hwang (South Korea)

Yunsun Jung (South Korea)

Nikita Kadan (Ukraine)

Wanuri Kahiu (Kenya)

Amar Kanwar (India)

Hayoun Kwon (South Korea)

Oliver Laric (Austria)

Minwhee Lee & Yun Choi (South Korea)

Gabriel Lester (Netherlands)

Minouk Lim (South Korea)

Laura Lima & Zé Carlos Garcia (Brazil)

Lin + Lam (US/Canada)

Liu Ding (China)

Marko Lulic (Austria)

Fabian Marti (Switzerland)

Augustin Maurs (France)

Metahaven (Netherlands)

Nástio Mosquito (Angola)

Henrike Naumann (Germany)

Marcel Odenbach (Germany)

Melik Ohanian (France)

Ferhat Ozgur (Turkey)

Kelvin Kyung Kun Park (South Korea)

Susan Philipsz (UK)

Adrian Piper (US)

Min Jeong Seo (South Korea)

Bruno Serralongue (France)

Tayfun Serttas (Turkey)

Hito Steyerl (Germany)

Jan Svenungsson (Sweden)

Tamura Yuichiro (Japan)

Javier Téllez (Venezuela)

The Propeller Group (Vietnam/US)

Suzanne Treister (UK)

Lars von Trier (Denmark)

Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas (Lithuania)

Jane & Louise Wilson (UK)

Ming Wong (Singapore)

Ulrich Wüst (Germany)

Zhang Peili (China)