Faith Ringgold.

CAA Announces Recipients of 2017 Awards for Distinction

The College Art Association has announced the recipients and finalists for its 2017 Awards for Distinction, honoring scholars, artists, teachers, and authors in the field of visual arts. Kerry James Marshall, the subject of a retrospective at the Met Breuer and whose work appears on the cover of this month’s issue of Artforum, along with a feature article by Carroll Dunham, will be awarded the 2017 CAA Artist Award for Distinguished Body of Work.

Faith Ringgold is the winner of the 2017 CAA Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement. Born in Harlem in 1930, the artist, feminist, activist, and educator works in a variety of media, including painting, quilts, sculpture, performance, and children’s books. She previously won the Distinguished Feminist Award from the CAA in 2011.

In publishing, CAA has recognized the achievements of several authors and editors. Kishwar Rizvi, an associate professor of Islamic art and architecture at Yale, will receive the Charles Rufus Morey Book Award for The Transnational Mosque: Architecture and Historical Memory in the Contemporary Middle East, published by the University of North Carolina Press. Ruth Fine will receive the Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for editing Procession: The Art of Norman Lewis, published by the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts in association with the University of California Press. Carmella Padilla and Barbara Anderson will be awarded the Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for Smaller Museums, Libraries, Collections, and Exhibitions for editing A Red Like No Other: How Cochineal Colored the World, published by Skira Rizzoli in association with the Museum of International Folk Art.

The Frank Jewett Mather Award for Art Criticism goes to Laura Marks for her book Hanan al-Cinema: Affections for the Moving Image, published by MIT Press. Meanwhile, Joan Marter, a professor of contemporary painting and sculpture at Rutgers University, will receive the CAA Distinguished Feminist Award this year.

Amy A. DaPonte is the winner of the Art Journal Award. Christine I. Ho, an assistant professor in East Asian art at UMass Amherst, will receive the Arthur Kingsley Porter Prize. Virginia Derryberry, a professor of painting and drawing at the University of North Carolina, Asheville is the winner of the 2017 CAA Distinguished Teaching of Art Award.

For the full list of finalists, see the CAA’s website here. The awards will be presented during convocation at the CAA Annual Conference on Wednesday, February 15, at the New York Hilton Midtown. The conference itself runs from February 15 to 18, 2017.