Stony Island Arts Bank

Chicago Architecture Biennial Releases Participant List

The inaugural Chicago Architecture Biennial, billed as the “largest international survey of contemporary architecture in North America,” has announced its chosen participants. The biennial’s already brought on a team of heavyweights: Its coartistic directors are Joseph Grima and Sarah Herda, and its advisory council features well-known names such as David Adjaye, Elizabeth Diller, Jeanne Gang, Frank Gehry, Sylvia Lavin, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Lord Peter Palumbo, and Stanley Tigerman.

The Stony Island Arts Bank, Theaster Gates’s latest project, will be one of the biennial’s sites. Chicago Cultural Center, Millennium Park, and the City Gallery in the Historic Water Tower are some of the other spaces involved in the biennial.

According to Forbes’s Ann Binlot, mayor Rahm Emanuel said, “The city of Chicago has left an indelible mark on the field of architecture, from the world’s first modern skyscraper to revolutionary urban designs. That’s why there’s no better host city than Chicago for this rare global event.”

The biennial begins this October and runs through January 2016. Its full list of participants is as follows:

Al Borde (Quito, Ecuador)
Allzone / Rachaporn Choochuey (Bangkok, Thailand)
Amanda Williams (Chicago, USA)
Andreas Angelidakis (Athens, Greece)
Andrés Jaque / Office for Political Innovation (Madrid, Spain; New York, USA)
Anne Lacaton & Jean-Philippe Vassal and Frederic Druot (Paris, France)
Aranda\Lasch (Tucson, USA; New York, USA)
Assemble (London, UK)
Atelier Bow-Wow (Tokyo, Japan)
Bjarke Ingels Group / BIG (Copenhagen, Denmark)
Bryony Roberts (Los Angeles, USA; Oslo, Norway)
Bureau Spectacular / Jimenez Lai (Los Angeles, USA)
Carlos Bunga (Barcelona, Spain)
Csutoras & Liando (Jakarta, Indonesia; London, UK)
Design With Company (Chicago, USA)
Didier Faustino (Paris, France)
El Equipo de Mazzanti / Giancarlo Mazzanti (Bogota, Colombia)
Erin Besler / Besler & Sons (Los Angeles, USA)
Frida Escobedo (Mexico City, Mexico)
Indie Architecture + Paul Preissner Architects (Denver/Chicago, USA)
Iwan Baan (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
John Ronan Architects (Chicago, USA)
Johnston Marklee (Los Angeles, USA)
Junya.ishigami+associates (Tokyo, Japan)
Kéré Architecture / Francis Kéré (Berlin, Germany)
Kuehn Malvezzi (Berlin, Germany)
Lateral Office (Toronto, Canada)
LIST / Ido Avissar (Paris, France)
Lluís Ortega / Sio2arch (Chicago, USA; Barcelona, Spain)
MAIO (Barcelona, Spain)
Marshall Brown Projects (Chicago, USA)
Mass Studies / Minsuk Cho (Seoul, Korea)
Moon Hoon (Seoul, Korea)
MOS / Michael Meredith and Hilary Sample (New York, USA)
New-Territories / M4 / François Roche & Camille Lacadee (Paris, France/Bangkok, Thailand)
NLÉ / Kunlé Adeyemi (Lagos, Nigeria; Rotterdam, Netherlands)
Norman Kelley (Chicago, USA)
OFFICE / Kersten Geers David Van Severen (Brussels, Belgium)
Onishimaki + Hyakuda Architects (Tokyo, Japan)
OPEN Architecture/ Li Hu & Huang Wenjing (Beijing, China)
Otherothers / David Neustein & Grace Mortlock (Sydney, Australia)
Pedro&Juana (Mexico City, Mexico)
Pezo von Ellrichshausen (Concepcion, Chile)
Plan:b Arquitectos / Felipe Mesa & Federico Mesa (Medellin, Colombia)
PORT (Chicago, USA)
Productora (Mexico City, Mexico)
RAAAF [Rietveld Architecture-Art-Affordances] (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
RUA Arquitetos (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
Rural Urban Framework (Hong Kong)
Santiago Borja (Mexico City, Mexico)
SO-IL (New York, USA)
Sou Fujimoto Architects (Tokyo, Japan)
Studio Albori (Milan, Italy)
Studio Gang / Jeanne Gang (Chicago, USA)
Studio [D] Tale (Harare, Zimbabwe; Cape Town, South Africa; London, UK)
Tatiana Bilbao S.C. (Mexico City, Mexico)
TOMA (Santiago, Chile)
UrbanLab / Sarah Dunn and Martin Felson (Chicago, USA)
VTN / Vo Trong Nghia Architects (Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam)
WAI Architecture Think Tank (Beijing, China)
Weathers / Sean Lally (Chicago, USA)
WORKac+ Ant Farm / Amale Andraos & Dan Wood, Chip Lord & Curtis Schreier (New York, USA)
Yasmeen Lari / Heritage Foundation Pakistan (Lahore, Pakistan)