The 2018 Chicago Architecture Biennial. Photo: Tom Harris.

Chicago Architecture Biennial Reveals 2019 Contributors

The Chicago Architecture Biennial announced today the eighty artists, architects, researchers, and cultural institutions that will contribute to its 2019 edition, “. . .and other such stories,” which will take place from September 19 to January 5, 2020. The exhibition will present projects addressing how architecture can address questions related to land, memory, rights, and civic participation.

“Our 2019 contributors represent the diversity of thinking on architecture and spatial practice globally, each engaged in research and work that explores the potential and challenges of our everyday experiences across public and private space, as well as the motivation and potential for the future of the field,” said artistic director Yesomi Umolu. “We are excited not only by the work that these contributors are already involved in, but the opportunity that the Biennial offers to expand these inquiries by connecting practices to each other and to visitors during the biennial’s run.”

Among the contributors are artists and collectives Black Quantum Futurism, Do Ho Suh, Forensic Architecture, Maria Gaspar, Ola Hassanain, Tania Bruguera, and Theaster Gates; architecture and design firms Borderless Studio (Chicago), RMA Architects (Mumbai), studioBASAR (Bucharest), Wolff Architects (Cape Town); and organizations such as the Chicago Architectural Preservation Archive, the Center for Spatial Research (New York), and the Funambulist magazine, headquartered in Paris.

The full list of contributors is as follows:

Exhibition Contributors

Akinbode Akinbiyi
Alejandra Celedon & Nicolas Stutzin
Alexandra Pirici
Avijit Mukul Kishore & Rohan Shivkumar
Black Quantum Futurism
Borderless Studio
Carolina Caycedo
Center for Spatial Research
Chicago Architectural Preservation Archive
Clemens von Wedemeyer
Cohabitation Strategies & Urban Front
Detroit Planning Department
Do Ho Suh
FICA–Fundo Imobiliário Comunitário para Aluguel
Forensic Architecture & Invisible Institute
Herkes İçin Mimarlık
Jimmy Robert
Joar Nango
Jorge González 
Keleketla! Library & Stockyard Institute
Maria Gaspar
MASS Design Group
MSTC, Escola da Cidade, & O Grupo Inteiro 
Ola Hassanain
Oscar Tuazon
Palestine Heirloom Seed Library Project
RIWAQ – Center for Architectural Conservation
RMA Architects 
Sammy Baloji & Filip de Boeck 
Santiago X 
Settler Colonial City Project & American Indian Center 
Somatic Collaborative
Sweet Water Foundation
Tania Bruguera & Association of Arte Útil 
Tanya Lukin Linklater & Tiffany Shaw-Collinge
Territorial Agency—John Palmesino & Ann-Sofi Rönnskog 
The Funambulist 
Theaster Gates 
Usina – CTAH 
Vincent Meessen
Walter J. Hood 
Wendelien van Oldenborgh 
Wolff Architects 
Zorka Wollny 

Catalogue Contributors

American Indian Center
Aviwe Mandyanda
Carmen Silva 
cheyanne turions 
Dr. Denise Ferreira da Silva 
Emmanuel Pratt
Eduardo O. Kohn 
Inam Kula 
Lesley Lokko 
Mario Gooden 
Black Quantum Futurism 
Stephen Willats 
Vincent Tao 
Virginia de Medeiros 
Vivien Sansour 
Columbia Books on Architecture and the City