News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Cooper Hewitt Announces Winners of 2016 National Design Awards

The Cooper Hewitt Museum has announced the winners of this year’s edition of the National Design Awards, which “celebrate design as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world, and seeks to increase national awareness of design by educating the public and promoting excellence, innovation, and lasting achievement.” The top honor is the Lifetime Achievement Award, which this year went to architect, urban planner, and author Moshe Safdie.

Safdie’s most recent projects with his Somerville, Massachusetts-based firm, Safdie Architects, include the Mamilla Center in Jerusalem, Israel; Marina Bay Sands in Singapore; Khalsa Heritage Centre in Punjab, India; and the United States Institute of Peace headquarters in Washington, DC. Safdie was also recently awarded the 2015 AIA Gold Medal.

For a full list of awardees see below

Make It Right, Director’s Award

Bruce Mau, Design Mind

The Center for Urban Pedagogy, Corporate Institutional Achievement

Marlon Blackwell Architects, Architecture Design

Geoff McFetridge, Communication Design

Opening Ceremony, Fashion Design

Tellart, Interaction Design

Studio O+A, Interior Design

Hargreaves Associates, Landscape Architecture

Ammunition, Product Design