News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Cooper Hewitt Announces Winners of the 2015 National Design Awards

Cooper Hewitt's director, Caroline Baumann, has announced the winners of this year’s National Design Awards.

Michael Graves was honored with the lifetime achievement award. Other recipients were Jack Lenor Larsen for the director’s award; Rosanne Haggerty for design mind; Heath Ceramics for corporate and institutional achievement; MOS Architects for architecture design; Project Projects for communication design; threeASFOUR for fashion design; John Underkoffler for interaction design; Commune for interior design; Coen + Partners for landscape architecture; and Stephen Burks for product design.

The jury was Lindsey Adelman, Waris Ahluwalia, Amale Andraos, Maurice Cox, Doreen Lorenzo, Todd Oldham, Casey Reas, Margie Ruddick, and Rick Valicenti.

“With the reopening of the museum this past year, Cooper Hewitt is scaling new heights to educate, inspire and empower our community through design,” said Baumann.

The winners of the award for communication design, Project Projects, said regarding the honor that “we began Project Projects with an expanded notion of graphic design—one that includes curating, editing, researching, writing, and more. For us, design is as much about content and context as it is about form. It’s an incredible validation to see that this is now an accepted mode of practice within the field.”