Creative Capital and Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant Winners Announced

The Creative Capital Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant Program has announced its second round of grant recipients. In its 2007 cycle, the Arts Writers Grant Program awarded a total of three hundred thousand dollars to sixteen individual authors. The 2007 grants range from seven thousand to thirty-five thousand dollars in three categories—short-form writing, articles, and books—and support projects addressing both general and specialized art audiences. The grant winners for books include Debra Balken for Harold Rosenberg, Bruce Hainley for Sturtevant’s Eclipse, Gary Indiana for The Hidden Life of the Image, Sonia Katyal for Anti-Branding, Glenn Ligon for Black Covers, Richard Meyer for What Was Contemporary Art?, and George Slade for Looking Homeward: Notes on Photographic Minnesota. A full list of winners can be found at

Grants were selected by a six-person national panel of distinguished professionals in the field: Carlos Basualdo, curator of contemporary art, Philadelphia Museum of Art; Lauren Cornell, executive director of Rhizome; Miwon Kwon, associate professor of art history, UCLA; Thomas Lawson, dean of the School of Art at California Institute of the Arts and editor of Afterall; Ann Reynolds, associate professor of art history and women’s and gender studies, University of Texas, Austin; and Katy Siegel, associate professor of art history and art criticism at Hunter College.