Grant winner Hannah Black.

Creative Capital | Andy Warhol Foundation Announces 2017 Writing Grant Recipients

The Creative Capital | Andy Warhol Foundation has announced its 2017 Writing Grant recipients. The program has awarded a total of $760,000 to twenty-three writers, ranging from $15,000 to $50,000, in four categories: articles, blogs, books, and short-form writing.

The 2017 grantees are:

Hsuan Hsu, “Olfactory Art and Differential Deodorization”
Liz Linden, “No Substitute: Reading the Collaborative Work of Louise Lawler and Sherrie Levine
Solveig Nelson, “Gretchen Bender’s ‘Total Recall,’ 1987, and the Feminist Return to Television Art”
Janet Sarbanes, “Houses of Dust: A Meditation in Many Parts”
Stephanie Schwartz, “Martha Rosler: Seeing the Screen”
Jared Sexton, “A Witticism About Darkness: Subtexts in Black Monochrome Painting”

Suzy Halajian, Shoghig Halajian, and Anthony Carfello, uncounted
Emmanuel Iduma, A Sum of Encounters
João Enxuto and Erica Love, Contemporary.Institute
Kristi McGuire, False Flags

Hannah Black, Vernacular Loneliness
Kency Cornejo, Contemporary Art of El Salvador, 1977–2017
M. Neelika Jayawardane, Comrades with Cameras: The Afrapix Photographers’ Collective and the Anti-Apartheid Movement
Janet Kraynak, Contemporary Art and the Digitization of Everyday Life
Shaka McGlotten, Black Data
Amber Musser, Brown Jouissance: Feminine Imaginings
Nada Shabout, The Dialectics of the Decorative in Iraqi Art
Greg Youmans, Something New Under the Sun: Bay Area Queer Filmmaking Across the 1970s

Jordan Amirkhani
Rachel Churner
Raquel Gutierrez
Omar Kholeif
Siddhartha Mitter