News Register for our weekly news digest here.

FCA Announces Grants to Artists and Robert Rauschenberg and Merce Cunningham Awards for 2017

The Foundation for Contemporary Arts, a nonprofit arts organization founded in 1963 by John Cage and Jasper Johns, has announced the recipients of its annual awards. Fourteen unrestricted grants of $40,000 each will be given to individual artists in the United States. Along with this cycle of grant awardees, Jimmie Durham has been named winner of the fifth annual Robert Rauschenberg award and Linda Austin winner of the second biennial Merce Cunningham Award. Both will receive $40,000.

Earlier today the Foundation also announced the establishment of a new annual award named after artist and poet Dorothea Tanning, as well as its first awardee, the poet Liz Waldner.

Grantees of the 2017 awards, broken up by category, are as follows:


Kim Brandt, Jackson Heights, NY
Moriah Evans, Brooklyn 


Gelsey Bell, Ridgewood, NY
Chris Corsano, Dryden, NY
Shelley Hirsch, New York
Thessia Machado, New York


Annie Dorsen, New York
Yuval Sharon, Los Angeles
Adrienne Truscott, Brooklyn


Anselm Berrigan


Andrea Fraser, Sherman Oaks, CA
Aki Sasamoto, Brooklyn
A. L. Steiner, Brooklyn
George Trakas, New York