News Register for our weekly news digest here.

FCA Announces Grants to Artists and Robert Rauschenberg Award for 2016

The Foundation for Contemporary Arts, a nonprofit arts organization founded in 1963 by John Cage and Jasper Johns, has announced the recipients of its annual awards. Fourteen unrestricted grants of $40,000 each will be given to individual artists in the United States. Along with this cycle of grant awardees, Jennie C. Jones has been named winner of the fourth annual Robert Rauschenberg award. She will receive $40,000. For more on Jones, see Andy Campbell’s current Critic’s Pick of her exhibition at the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston.

Additionally, the artist and vocalist Joan La Barbara has been awarded the $50,000 biennial John Cage Award.

Grantees of the 2016 awards, broken up by category, are as follows:


Nora Chipaumire, Brooklyn
Yve Laris Cohen, Brooklyn
Walter Dundervill, Brooklyn
Sara Shelton Mann, San Francisco
Melinda Ring, New York
Larissa Velez-Jackson, Brooklyn


Ashley Fure, Hanover, NH
William Winant, Oakland, CA
Nate Wooley, Brooklyn


Jack Ferver, Brooklyn
David Levine, New York
Tina Satter, Brooklyn


Renee Gladman, Providence, RI


Barbara Bloom, New York