News Register for our weekly news digest here.

FCA Announces Grants to Artists and Robert Rauschenberg Awards for 2015

The Foundation for Contemporary Arts, a nonprofit arts organization founded in 1963 by John Cage and Jasper Johns, has announced the recipients of its annual awards. Fourteen unrestricted grants of $35,000 each, amounting to a total of $490,000, will be given to individual artists and one collective in the United States. Along with this cycle of grant awardees, composer Eve Beglarian has been named winner of the third annual Robert Rauschenberg award. She will receive $35,000 to build upon a musical practice that includes electronic, vocal, chamber, and orchestral music. In addition, the artist Yvonne Rainer has been awarded the first biennial Merce Cunningham Award.

Grantees of the 2015 awards, broken up by category, are as follows:


Body Cartography Project, Minneapolis
Melanie Maar, Brooklyn
Will Rawls, Brooklyn


Ellen Fullman, Berkeley, CA
Zach Layton, Troy, NY
Missy Mazzoli, Brooklyn


Mallory Catlett, New York
Jim Findlay, Brooklyn
Cynthia Hopkins, Brooklyn


Julie Patton, New York
Tony Towle, New York


David Diao, New York
David Hartt, Chicago
Xaviera Simmons, Brooklyn