News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Five Visual Artists Receive 2015 Tanne Foundation Awards

The Tanne Foundation has announced the winners of its 2015 awards. Totaling $52,500, the prize will go to eight artists this year, including five visual artists, two playwrights, and one theater artist. An artist-run nonprofit is being recognized as well: Mobius, in Cambridge, Massachusetts—a group that’s spent nearly four decades seeking to generate and test experimental art. Since its establishment, the foundation has made awards to eighty-eight artists and nine organizations.

The trustees of the foundation are responsible for proposing nominees.

This year’s awardees are:

Cynthia Babak, Brooklyn, New York
Peter Handy, Bloomfield, New Jersey
Taylor Pilote, Tampa, Florida
John Romang, Paducah, Kentucky
Jesse Ray Sims, Cave City, Kentucky
Kate Snodgrass, Somerville, Massachusetts
Jordan Weber, Des Moines, Iowa
Mark Whitley, Smiths Grove, Kentucky
Mobius, Inc. Cambridge, Massachusetts