Anne Boyer and Fred Moten, the 2018 winners of the inaugural Cy Twombly Award for Poetry and the Roy Lichtenstein Award. Photo: (Left) Still from SkriptaTV and (Right) Robert Adam Mayer.

Foundation for Contemporary Arts Launches More Poetry Prizes

Following the announcement from the Foundation for Contemporary Arts (FCA) that it established the inaugural $40,000 C.D. Wright Award for Poetry after it received a $1 million endowment gift from the late artist Ellsworth Kelly and artist Jack Shear, the nonprofit revealed the winners of two more $40,000 awards.

In December, the FCA announced that Lisa Robertson was the winner of the C.D. Wright Award for Poetry. The two other new prizes, which will recognize artists working in any discipline, are the inaugural Cy Twombly Award for Poetry and the Roy Lichtenstein Award—both grants were endowed by the artists’ respective foundations.

“From FCA’s first benefit exhibition in 1963, the generosity of the community of visual artists in supporting artists in other disciplines has been the cornerstone of FCA,” said artist Cecily Brown, a director of the Foundation for Contemporary Arts. “We are pleased to continue this tradition with three new awards supported by the visual arts community in 2018, and particularly pleased to make these awards in poetry, which is a perennially under-resourced field.”

Anne Boyer, the poet and essayist from Kansas City, Missouri, whose work explores issues of gender, class labor, and illness, was named the inaugural winner of the Cy Twombly Award for Poetry. Her published works include My Common Heart (Spooky Girlfriend, 2011), Garments Against Women (Ahsahta, 2015), and A Handbook of Disappointed Fate (Ugly Duckling Presse, 2018). She is also currently writing The Undying, a meditation upon cancer care, which she wrote while undergoing treatment for the disease. Farrar, Straus and Giroux will publish the work upon completion.

The New York–based poet Fred Moten is the recipient of the inaugural Roy Lichtenstein Award. The teacher and writer often addresses the social force and social origins of black expressive cultural practices as well as the relation between insurgent social movement and experimental art. His published works include In the Break: The Aesthetics of the Black Radical Tradition (University of Minnesota Press, 2003); Hughson’s Tavern (Leon Works, 2009); The Feel Trio (Letter Machine Editions, 2014); The Service Porch (Letter Machine Editions, 2016); and Black and Blur (consent not to be a single being) (Duke University Press, 2017).