News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Getty Foundation Announces 2018 Keeping It Modern Grant Recipients

The Getty Foundation announced today that it has awarded $1.7 million to eleven architectural conservation projects as part of its Keeping It Modern grants, which are dedicated to supporting the preservation of significant twentieth-century buildings. The 2018 grant cycle is providing funding to buildings in Cuba, Lebanon, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, and Ireland, as well as landmarks such as the Gateway Arch in Saint Louis. Since its inception in 2014, Keeping It Modern has supported fifty-four conservation projects.

“As Keeping It Modern’s international network continues to grow, we have seen grantees increasingly identify themselves with the initiative and the principles it represents,” said Joan Weinstein, acting director of the Getty Foundation. “Chief among them is an emphasis on research and planning, values that have guided the Getty’s funding for decades. We believe that Keeping It Modern projects are setting a new standard.”

Among this year’s projects is the National Schools of Art of Havana, which is one of the first major cultural projects to be built in Cuba following the country’s 1959 revolution. In addition to supporting a detailed study of the site, the grant will include training opportunities for Cuban conservation professionals. Additionally, the Rashid Karami International Fairground—a modernist compound of exhibition pavilions, theaters, museums, and residences—in Tripoli, Lebanon, will receive funding. The project highlights the struggle to conserve war-ravaged sites. The complex, which was only partially completed before Lebanon’s civil war broke out in 1975, was left in an incomplete state.

The Getty Foundation also recently launched the Keeping It Modern Report Library, which includes completed technical accounts from twenty grant projects that are available for free download and can be used by practitioners in the field or anyone interested in cultural heritage preservation. 

The full list of grant recipients is as follows:

The National Schools of Art of Havana, Cuba
Architects: Ricardo Porro, Vittorio Garatti, and Roberto Gottardi

Rashid Karami International Fairground, Tripoli, Lebanon
Architect: Oscar Niemeyer

Gateway Arch, Saint Louis
Architect: Eero Saarinen

History Museum of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Sarajevo
Architects: Boris Magaš, Edo Šmidihen, and Radovan Horvat

Chess Palace and Alpine Club, Tbilisi, Georgia
Architects: Vladimir Aleksi-Meskhishvili and Germane Gudushauri

Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, California
Architect: Louis Kahn

St. Brendan’s Community School, Birr, Ireland
Architects: Peter and Mary Doyle

Technische Universiteit Delft Auditorium, Netherlands
Architects: Johannes van den Broek and Jaap Bakema

School of Mathematics at the Università degli Studi di Roma, Italy
Architect: Gio Ponti

Collegi Universitari at the Università degli Studi di Urbino Carlo Bo, Urbino, Italy
Architect: Giancarlo De Carlo

Engineering Building at the University of Leicester, England Architects: James Stirling and James Gowan