Caitlin Berrigan, Helicopter Pad, Rachid Karami International Fair Park, from the series “Unfinished State,” 2015. Photo: Caitlin Berrigan

Graham Foundation Awards $560,000 in Support of Architectural Projects

The Graham Foundation announced today the recipients of over $560,000 in grants supporting advancements in architecture. Ninety-nine individuals from twenty countries were recognized for a range of innovative projects including exhibitions, publications, films, performances, and site-specific installations.

“Many of our grantees this year are exploring the agency of design,” Graham Foundation director Sarah Herda said. “They are testing the limits of conventional practice to make new work that directly engages the social and political dimensions of the designed environment.”

Among the seventy-two projects selected are Zahra Malkani and Shahana Rajani’s “Detritus and Development” (2018), an exhibition and ongoing research project that examines emerging landscapes at the intersection of infrastructure, war, and climate change in Pakistan; Josef Asteinza and Mariano Ros’s Havana Modern: Nicolás Quintana and the Architecture of the City (2017), a documentary film about late architect Nicolás Quintana, who played an important role in the Modern movement in Cuba; Everywhere All the Time, 2016, a performance work celebrating the twentieth anniversary of Seán Curran Company, a New York City–based contemporary dance ensemble that connects the fields of dance, music, art, and architecture; and Caitlin Berrigan’s “Unfinished State” (2015), a novel transcribed onto hundreds of postcards that focuses on the waves of real estate development in Berlin and Beirut, two cities that have been under reconstruction for decades.

The full list of grant recipients is as follows:

Marcelo Araya, Andrés Garcés, Iván Ivelic, and Manuel Sanfuentes
Daniel Cardoso Llach
Assaf Evron
Nathan Friedman
Anna Halprin
Suzanne Harris-Brandts and Angela Wheeler
Rick Lowe
Zahra Malkani and Shahana Rajani
Senam Awo Okudzeto
Maxi Spina
Martine Syms

Film/Video/New Media
Josef Asteinza and Mariano Ros
TOMA (Leandro Cappetto, Mathias Klenner, Eduardo Pérez, Ignacio Rivas, and Ignacio Saavedra)
Aggie Ebrahimi, Oscar Molina, Brenda Isabel Steinecke Soto, Catalina Ortiz, and Sandra Tabares-Duque
Daniel Eisenberg
Sean Lally
Liam Young

Public Program
Seán Curran, David Skidmore, and Diana Balmori

Kunlé Adeyemi and Suzanne Lettieri
Esra Akcan
Barry Bergdoll and Jonathan Massey
Caitlin Berrigan
Michael Carriere and David Schalliol
Irene Cheng, Charles L. Davis II, and Mabel O. Wilson
Alison J. Clarke
Francesco Dal Co
Roberto Damiani
Martha Deese
Teresa Fankhänel
Leonardo Finotti
Reto Geiser
Design Earth: Rania Ghosn and El Hadi Jazairy
Cristina Goberna and Urtzi Grau
Sarah Williams Goldhagen
Maria Gough
Helen Gyger
Aimi Hamraie
Rory Hyde
Office for Political Innovation: Andrés Jaque
Omar Kholeif
Tiffany Lambert
Paolo Nicoloso
Conor O’Shea
Itohan I. Osayimwese
Kyong Park
Angelo Plessas
Mil M2: Fernando Portal
Anders Herwald Ruhwald
Catherine Seavitt Nordenson
Elisa Silva
Christopher Sims
Anna-Sophie Springer and Etienne Turpin
Molly Wright Steenson
Paulo Tavares
Allyson Vieira

Michelle Moore Apotsos
Tulay Atak
Lee Azus
Andrea Bagnato
Eva Díaz
WAI Think Tank: Nathalie Frankowski and Cruz Garcia
Miyuki Aoki Girardelli
Virginia Hanusik
Sophie Debiasi Hochhäusl
Branden W. Joseph, Felicity D. Scott, and Mark Wasiuta
Jeffrey Mansfield
Rebecca O’Neal Dagg
Jason Oddy
MK Smaby and Carolyn Wheeler
Irene V. Small
Despina Stratigakos
Chat Travieso