Grisha Bruskin and AES+F Collective Awarded 2012 Kandinsky Prize

The 2012 Kandinsky Prize, which recognizes works of contemporary art by Russian artists, has been awarded to Grisha Bruskin and the AES+F collective. The recipients will split the approximately fifty-two thousand dollars included in the prize. The BBC reports that Bruskin was chosen for his H-Hour sculpture, which explores notions of hate. The AES+F collective is being recognized for Allegoria Sacra, the final part in a video trilogy about heaven, hell, and purgatory. The prize, which allows artists to nominate themselves, received 385 submissions. The punk collective Pussy Riot was part of this list, but failed to make the shortlist of thirty-five artists.