News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Hirshhorn Museum Announces Four New Trustees

After electing five new trustees last March, the Smithsonian’s Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden has announced the addition of four more trustees to the Museum’s board this week. David Appel, Marcus Brauchli, Theaster Gates, and Sheri Schlesinger are the new members, bringing the total membership of the board to twenty-one. Theaster Gates will replace Ann Hamilton as the artist representative on the board.

David Appel is president of Toronto-based firm David Appel Investment Consultants and serves on the boards of the Shaw Festival, the National Theater School of Canada, and the Toronto Foundation for Student Success. He is a member of the twentieth century acquisition committee at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and has served on the boards of Canadian Stage, the Desrosiers Dance Theater, and the National Ballet of Canada.

Marcus Brauchli is cofounder and managing partner of North Base Media, which invests in journalism-related media and technology companies, and was previously a vice president of the Washington Post Co. and executive editor of The Washington Post. He is chairman of the Arthur F. Burns Fellowship, an exchange program between the U.S. and Germany, and is also is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the Economic Club of New York, and the World Economic Forum’s global agenda council on the future of media, entertainment and information.

Theaster Gates is Chicago-based artist who founded the nonprofit Rebuild Foundation and is currently a professor in visual arts and director of the arts and public life initiative at the University of Chicago. Gates has exhibited and performed at the Studio Museum in Harlem, the 2010 Whitney Biennial, the Whitechapel Gallery in London, Punta della Dogana in Venice, and the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, among others.

Sheri Schlesinger is a Los Angeles-based philanthropist who was owner and chief executive officer of Schlesinger & Associates, an interior design and architecture firm. She was the national lay chair of the One Family Fund and is retired board chair of Aleinu.