Independent Vision Curatorial Award Winners Announced

Nav Haq and Jay Sanders have been chosen as the winners of the 2012 Independent Vision Curatorial Award. Haq is a curator at the Het Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, and previously worked as curator at Arnolfini in Bristol. Sanders is curator and curator of performance at the Whitney Museum in New York, and prior to that served as gallery director at Greene Naftali. Both Haq and Sanders will receive $4,000 to realize a new project. The juror for this year's competition, Hans Ulrich Obrist, noted of the awardees he chose, “Each . . . is establishing a unique voice, developing their practice by initiating projects independently, as well as having worked in a diverse range of institutions.”