Görgün Taner, the general director of the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts; Bige Örer, the International Istanbul Biennial director; and Nicolas Bourriaud, the curator of the 16th edition, at a press conference for the 2019 biennial. Photo: Ilgin Erarslan Yanmaz. Courtesy of the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts.

Istanbul Biennial Releases Artist List for Sixteenth Edition

The Istanbul Biennial has announced that fifty-seven artists and collectives from twenty-six countries, including Argentina, Iran, South Korea, and the United States, will participate in its sixteenth edition, which will open on September 14 and run through November 10. Curated by French scholar, curator, and critic Nicolas Bourriaud, the current director of the Montpellier Contemporain, “The Seventh Continent” will take place across three locations: the Istanbul Shipyards, the Pera Museum, and Büyükada Island.

“The Seventh Continent is an anthropology of an off-centered world and an archaeology of our times,” Bourriaud said in a statement. “It shows today’s artistic production as a multiverse, an archipelago of differences, away from normative continents and massive entities. It defines art as a molecular anthropology, which studies the human effects, tracks and prints in the universe, and their interaction with non-humans.”

Bige Örer, director of the Istanbul Biennial, added: “The Istanbul Biennial acts as a space to present new definitions of artistic production and above all to share artistic knowledge and debate both between artists and with the wider public. . . . We are delighted that so many brilliant artists have accepted our invitation to work in Istanbul, under the inspired curatorial leadership of Nicolas Bourriaud.” Among the artists showing work at the event are Yuji Agematsu, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Elmas Deniz, Rashid Johnson, Glenn Ligon, Mika Rottenberg, Max Hooper Schneider, and Andrea Zittel.

The full artist list is as follows:

Agnieszka Kurant
Ambera Wellmann
Andrea Zittel
Anzo (José Iranzo Almonacid)
Armin Linke, Charles Avery
Claudia Martínez Garay
David Douard
Deniz Aktaş
Dora Budor
Elmas Deniz
Eloise Hawser
En Man Chang
Eva Kot’átková
Feral Atlas Collective
Glauco Rodrigues
Glenn Ligon
Güneş Terkol & Güçlü Öztekin
Hale Tenger
Haegue Yang
Jared Madere
Jennifer Tee
Johannes Büttner
Jonathas de Andrade
Korakrit Arunanondchai
Marguerite Humeau
Mariechen Danz
Monster Chetwynd
Luigi Serafini
Max Hooper Schneider
Melvin Moti
Mika Rottenberg
Müge Yılmaz
Ozan Atalan
Özlem Altın
Pakui Hardware (Ugnius Gelguda & Neringa Černiauskaitė)
Paul Sietsema
Piotr Uklański
Norman Daly
Phillip Zach
Pia Arke
Radcliffe Bailey
Rashid Johnson
Rebecca Belmore
Sanam Khatibi
Simon Fujiwara
Simon Starling
Suzanne Husky
Suzanne Treister
Tala Madani
Thiago Rocha Pitta
Turiya Magadlela
Ursula Mayer
Ylva Snöfrid
Yuji Agematsu