News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Kresge Foundation Announces 2010 Fellowships

The Kresge Foundation announced the 2010 Kresge Artist Fellowships in the literary and performing arts. Each of the eighteen fellowships includes an unrestricted prize of $25,000 rewarding creative vision and commitment to excellence within a wide range of artistic disciplines. This is the second year of the program, and the fellowships are awards exclusively to metro Detroit artists in the tri-county area (Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb). Detroit’s College for Creative Studies administers the fellowships, and the fellows are also offered customized professional development opportunities by ArtServe Michigan.

Literary Arts

Louis Aguilar, creative non-fiction writer
Vince Carducci, art critic
Lynn Crawford, art critic/fiction writer
Vievee Francis, poet
Rachel Harkai, poet
Steve Hughes, fiction/creative non-fiction writer
Matthew Olzmann, poet
Chris Tysh, poet/playwright
Craig L. Wilkins, creative non-fiction writer

Performing Arts

Haleem Ar-Rasheed, “Stringz” choreographer
A. Spencer Barefield, composer/musician
Monica Blaire, composer/singer/songwriter
Timmy Lampinen, “Timmy Vulgar” composer/musician
Valeria Montes, “La Chispa” choreographer
Frank Pahl, sound artist
Joel Peterson, composer/musician
Rick Robinson, “Mr. CutTime” composer/musician
Ilana Weaver, “Invincible” hip-hop artist