News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Laurie Anderson and Lawrence Weiner Win $100,000 Wolf Prize in Arts

The winners of the 2017 Wolf Prize, which honors laureates in the sciences and the arts, were announced at the Eretz Israel Museum in Tel Aviv on Tuesday, January 3. Artists Laurie Anderson and Lawrence Weiner received the $100,000 annual prize for accomplishments in the arts.

The Wolf Foundation said that Anderson and Weiner were recognized “for the radicalism and avant-garde at the core of their work, and for inspiring generations to come.” They will be awarded the prizes during a ceremony hosted by the Knesset in June.

The other recipients include: Robert G. Bergman for chemistry, Richard Schoen and Charles Fefferman for mathematics, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for physics, and Jim Allison for medicine.