News Register for our weekly news digest here.

MacDowell Colony Awards Fellowships to Eighty-Seven Artists

The MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, New Hampshire, has announced the eighty-seven artists receiving fall and winter fellowships. Hailing from nineteen states and six countries, the artists work across seven disciplines, including architecture, film, theater, and the visual arts.

“These artists bring their diverse voices and visions, share those gifts in residence with artists of different disciplines, and no doubt their work will resonate with audiences around the world,” executive director Cheryl A. Young said in a statement. Young announced earlier this month that she will retire from the Colony in early 2019, after a twenty-two-year tenure. The search for her replacement is ongoing.

The incoming group of fellows includes composer Anthony Wilson, author Jane Alexander, architect Karla Rothstein, screenwriters Guinevere Turner and David Zellner, playwright Jihae Park, visual artists Itty Neuhaus and Isidro Blasco, and poet Jane Hirshfield. 

The MacDowell Colony awards more than three hundred fellowships each year. While at in residence, fellows are provided with a private studio for a period of up to eight weeks, accommodations, and three meals a day. Each fellowship is valued at around $10,000. The next application deadline for the winter/spring 2019 residency period is September 15.

The full list of the fall and early winter fellows is as follows:


Edward Ford
Kai Franz
Ryan Ludwig
Karla Rothstein


Byron Asher
Armando Bayolo
Frank Carlberg
Arthur Gottschalk
Ofir Klemperer
Victor Marquez-Barrios
Kurt Rohde
Anthony Wilson


Arisleyda Dilone
Margaret Honda
Jenny Perlin
Alvaro Sarmiento
Christin Turner
Guinevere Turner
David Zellner

Interdisciplinary Artists

Abigail Levine
Sharon Mashihi
Kaj-anne Pepper
Tom Sellar
Takahiro Yamamoto

Theater Artists

Jane Alexander
Christina Anderson
Anna Fox
Rob Handel
Darrel Holnes
Nigel Maister
Sarah Mantell
Alistair McDowall
Jiehae Park
Christina Quintana

Visual Artists

Andrea Artz
Isidro Blasco
Mike Crane
Stuart Diamond
Pinkney Herbert
Christine Hiebert
Sharon Horvath
Itty Neuhaus
Ester Partegas
Jami Porter Lara
Heidi Schwegler
Joni Sternbach
Margaux Williamson
Jayoung Yoon


Susan Barba
Brian Cochran
Ayokunle Falomo
Jane Hirshfield
Matthew Olzmann
Jamila Osman
Ethel Rackin
Marie Silkeberg

Nonfiction Writers

Burkhard Bilger
Michelle Bowdler
Matthew Clark
Caitlin Delohery
Jeremy Eichler
Clair MacDougall
Alexis Okeowo
Joshua Shenk
Emily Silverman
Tess Taylor
Dorothy Wickenden
Amy Wilentz

Fiction Writers

Sara Allen
Latifa Ayad
Mia Bailey
Maud Casey
Lan Samantha Chang
Deirdre Coyle
Simon Han
Annie Hartnett
Naomi Jackson
Roger King
Sarah Ladipo Manyika
Andrew Martin
Carole Maso
Tanwi Nandini Islam
Shira Nayman
Keija Parssinen
Sue Rainsford
Clarisse Baleja Saidi
Tatsiana Zamirouskaya