News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Clockwise from top left: Tamar Baruch, David Hertzberg, Kia Corthron, Tommy Orange, Matthew Connors, Joseph Keckler, Žibuoklė Martinaitytė, and Aleshea Harris. Photo: the MacDowell Colony.
Clockwise from top left: Tamar Baruch, David Hertzberg, Kia Corthron, Tommy Orange, Matthew Connors, Joseph Keckler, Žibuoklė Martinaitytė, and Aleshea Harris. Photo: the MacDowell Colony.

MacDowell Colony Awards Fellowships to Eighty-Six Artists

The MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, New Hampshire, has awarded fellowships to eighty-six artists. Hailing from eighteen states and nine countries, including Texas, Maine, and Montana, as well as Chile, Australia, China, and Israel, the fellows were selected from a pool of 846 applicants. Forty-three of the artists are women, and the majority of awardees have never been selected for a MacDowell fellowship before.

The cohort includes composers David Hertzberg and Žibuoklė Martinaitytė; film artists Tamar Baruch and Hannah Gross; performance artist Joseph Keckler; playwright Annie Baker; landscape architect Jane Hutton; visual artists Portia Munson, Accra Shepp, and Chadwick Rantanen; poets Victoria Chang and Ari Banias; and writers Kia Corthron, Sheila Heti, Tommy Orange, Kenneth Rosen, and Farah Stockman.

MacDowell estimates that the fellowships each have an average value of $10,000. The organization provides the artists with private studio space for a period of up to eight weeks, accommodations, and three meals a day. Some artists may also be eligible for travel grants and stipends to cover expenses that accrue at home while they are at the residency. The MacDowell Colony awards more than three hundred fellowships each year. The next application deadline is April 15, 2019 for the autumn 2019 residency period.

“From cutting edge film to bold new directions in electronic music, and from topical theater to new approaches in multi-disciplinary design, this group of fellows represents a stunning array of creative approaches to make new work destined to delight art lovers far and wide,” executive director Cheryl A. Young said in a statement. “The sheer diversity of talent, discipline, and cultural perspectives defined by these artists is part of the formula that makes a MacDowell Fellowship so unique and rewarding.”

The most recent group of fellows includes, according to discipline:

Architects Jane Hutton, Katherine Jenkins, Kyle Miller, Robert Pietrusko, Parker Sutton, and Christopher Woebken

Composers Tomás Brantmayer, Caroline Davis, Christopher Dietz, Wally Gunn, David Hertzberg, Žibuoklė Martinaitytė, and Steven Snowden

Filmmakers Tamar Baruch, Johan Grimonprez, Hannah Gross, Kristen Nutile, JP Olsen, Sierra Pettengill, Steve Reinke, Joshua Solondz, and Courtney Stephens

Interdisciplinary Artists Matt Bodett, Michelle Boulé, Jerome Ellis, Katie Holten, Joseph Keckler, Corinne Spencer, and Leah Stein

Theater Artists Annie Baker, Jorge Ignacio Cortiñas, Dominic Finocchiaro, Peter Gray, Aleshea Harris, MJ Kaufman, Richard Marshall, Julian Maynard Smith, and Jonathan Spector

Visual Artists Meghan Brady, Barnett Cohen, Paul Collins, Matthew Connors, Hope Gangloff, Clay Jordan, Bridget Mullen, Portia Munson, Chadwick Rantanen, Accra Shepp, Mary Temple, and Tenesh Webber

Poets Alfredo Aguilar, Ari Banias, Victoria Chang, Juan Andrés García Román, Katie Hale, Sara Lefsyk, Aurora Masum-Javed, and Hoa Nguyen

Nonfiction Writers Cal Flyn, Vincent Granata, Frank Huyler, Christopher Ketcham, Mary Kosut, Raghav Krish, Kimberly Meyer, Joanna Rakoff, Kenneth Rosen, and Farah Stockman

Fiction Writers Gbolahan Adeola, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Rachel Cantor, Kia Corthron, Jennifer Down, Patrick Flanery, Amina Gautier, Rachel B. Glaser, Adam Haslett, Sheila Heti, Ladee Hubbard, Genevieve Hudson, Maxim Loskutoff, Lydia Millet, Michael Moore, Anna Noyes, Tommy Orange, and Mikkel Rosengaard