Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships Announced

Seven recipients of the Greater Milwaukee Foundation’s Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships have been selected from a field of 136 applicants in the eighth annual competition. Brent Coughenour, Paul Druecke, and Waldek Dynerman were chosen in the established artist category and will each receive a $15,000 fellowship. Sarah Buccheri, Neil Gravander, Ashley Morgan, and Chris Thompson will receive emerging artist fellowships of $5,000 each. In addition to receiving an award, the Nohl Fellows will participate in an exhibition in the autumn of 2011. An exhibition catalogue will also be published and disseminated nationally.

Finalists in the Established Artist category included Santiago Cucullu, Sheila Held, Kay Knight, and Mary Osmundsen.

Finalists in the Emerging artist category included Nicholas Grider, Kristin Haas, Allison Heape, Jon Horvath, Colleen Ludwig, and Sarah Luther.

Funded by the Greater Milwaukee Foundation’s Mary L. Nohl Fund and administered by the Bradley Family Foundation, the Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships for Individual Artists provide unrestricted funds for artists to create new work or complete work in progress. The program is open to practicing artists residing in the four-county area (Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee, and Washington counties). The Mary L. Nohl Fund also supports a Suitcase Fund for exporting work by local artists beyond the four-county area.

The panel of jurors included Sheryl Conkelton, an art historian, curator, and writer based in Philadelphia; Nathan Lee, a critic and curator based in New York; and Lucía Sanromán, associate curator at the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego. The panelists were in Milwaukee from October 28 to October 30, reviewing work samples and artists’ statements and visiting the studios of the seven finalists in the Established Artist category.