Münster Sculpture Projects 2017 Announces Artists List

The fifth edition of the once-a-decade Münster Sculpture Projects, taking place in the north German town of Münster from June 10 to October 1, has released its participating artists list. Among the thirty-five artists representing nineteen countries in this massive exhibition are Michael Dean, Cerith Wyn Evans, Justin Matherly, Emeka Ogboh, Gregor Schneider, Thomas Schütte, Hito Steyerl, and Oscar Tuazon.

In a statement, Münster Sculpture Projects said, “We are as convinced as ever that art in the urban realm is capable of activating historical, architectural, social, political, and aesthetic contexts. We see its great potential not in the occupation, but rather in the creation, of spaces.”

The exhibition is organized by LWL-Muse-um für Kunst und Kultur and curated by artistic director Kasper König in collaboration with Britta Peters and Marianne Wagner. This year’s concept will revolve around experiences of body, time, and space in an age of increasing digitization.

The full artists list is as follows:

Ei Arakawa (born 1977, Fukushima)
Aram Bartholl (born 1972, Bremen, Germany)
Nairy Baghramian (born 1971, Isfahan, Iran)
Cosima von Bonin (born 1962, Mombasa, Kenya)
Andreas Bunte (born 1970, Mettmann, Germany)
Gerard Byrne (born 1969, Dublin)
“Camp” with Shaina Anand (born 1975, Mumbai) and Ashok Sukumaran (born 1974, Hokkaido, Japan)
Michael Dean (born 1977, Newcastle upon Tyne, England)
Jeremy Deller (born 1966, London)
Nicole Eisenman (born 1965, Verdun, Germany)
Ayşe Erkmen (born 1949, Istanbul)
Lara Favaretto (born 1973, Treviso, Italy)
Hreinn Fridfinnsson (born 1943, Bær í Dölum, Iceland)
Monika Gintersdorfer (born 1967, Lima) and Knut Klaßen (born 1967, Münster)
Pierre Huyghe (born 1962, Paris)
John Knight (born 1945, Los Angeles)
Xavier Le Roy (born 1963, Juvisy sur Orge, France) with Scarlet Yu (born 1978, Hong Kong)
Justin Matherly (born 1972, New York)
Sany (Samuel Nyholm) (born 1973, Lund, Sweden)
Christian Odzuck (born 1978, Halle, Germany)
Emeka Ogboh (born 1977, Enugu, Nigeria)
Peles Empire with Barbara Wolff (born 1980, Făgăraș, Romania) and Katharina Stöver (born 1982, Gießen, Germany)
Alexandra Pirici (born 1982, Bucharest)
Mika Rottenberg (born 1976, Buenos Aires)
Gregor Schneider (born 1969, Rheydt, Germany)
Thomas Schütte (born 1954, Oldenburg, Germany)
Nora Schultz (born 1975, Frankfurt)
Michael Smith (born 1951, Chicago)
Hito Steyerl (born 1966, Munich)
Koki Tanaka (born 1975, Tochigi, Japan)
Oscar Tuazon (born 1975, Seattle)
Joelle Tuerlinckx (born 1958, Brussels)
Cerith Wyn Evans (born 1958, Llanelli, Wales)
Herve Youmbi (born 1973, Bangui, Central African Republic)
Barbara Wagner (born 1980, Brasilia) and Benjamin de Burca (born 1975, Munich)