News Register for our weekly news digest here.

New York Foundation for the Arts Awards More than $600,000 to Local Artists

The New York Foundation for the Arts announced the recipients of its NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowship program. Chosen from a pool of more than three thousand people, eighty-nine artists working in the disciplines of fiction, folk/traditional arts, interdisciplinary work, painting, and video/film will be awarded a total of $623,000.

For the past thirty-two years, NYFA has administered the fellowships in collaboration with the New York State Council on the Arts. This year’s recipients, which range from twenty-six to and seventy-seven years of age, will each receive $7,000 cash grants. In addition, the fifteen finalists, who will not receive cash awards, will be able to benefit from a range of other NYFA services.

“We recognize that at the heart of the arts is the individual artist,” said Mara Manus, executive director of the New York State Council on the Arts. “These grants provide artists in a multitude of disciplines with financial support so they can take risks and flourish in their work, fueling the creative capital of New York.”

Since its launch in 1985, the program has awarded over $31 million to more than 4,500 artists. A complete list of the fellows is as follows:


Caitlin Cass (Erie)

Diane Chang (Queens)

Martin Cloutier (Kings)

Dana Czapnik (New York)

Nicole Dennis-Benn (Kings)

Eric Gansworth (Niagara)

Susanna Horng (New York)

Naomi Jackson (Kings)

Swati Khurana (New York)

Lisa Ko (Kings)

Haifa Lakshmi Koleilat (Rockland)

Marie Myung-Ok Lee (New York)

Lissette J. Norman (Richmond)**

Bino A. Realuyo (Queens)

Mike Scalise (Kings)

Jennifer Sears (Kings)

Sejal Shah (Monroe)

Kelli Trapnell (Kings)


Folk/Traditional Arts:

Douglas Barr (Richmond)

Danielle Brown (Kings)

Moris J. Cañate (Queens)

Helen Taylor Condon (St. Lawrence)

William Crouse Sr. (Cattaraugus)

Wafa Ghnaim (Kings)

Zhong-hua Lu (Rensselaer)

Potri Ranka Manis (Queens)

Tashi D. Sharzur (Techung) (Essex)

Jake Shulman-Ment (Kings)

Salieu Suso (Bronx)**


Interdisciplinary Work:

Noel W. Anderson (Queens)

Kim Brandt (Queens)

A.K. Burns (Kings)

Tyler Coburn (Kings)

Ayana Evans (New York)

Allison Janae Hamilton (New York)

Kathy High (Rensselaer)

Sue Jeong Ka (New York)

Baseera Khan (New York)

Mary Mattingly (Kings)

Christie Neptune (Kings)

Ernesto Pujol (Columbia)

Elise Rasmussen (Kings)

Aki Sasamoto (Kings)

Kuldeep Singh (Kings)

Tiffany Smith (Kings)

Tattfoo Tan (Richmond)



Samira Abbassy (New York)

Maria Berrio (Kings)

Gabe Brown (Ulster)

Tom Burckhardt (New York)

Ginny Casey (Kings)

Elizabeth Colomba (New York)

Lisa Corinne Davis (Kings)

Lydia Dona (New York)

Donise English (Dutchess)

Derek Fordjour (New York)*

Clarity Haynes (Kings)

Vera Iliatova (Kings)

Julian Kreimer (Kings)

Joel Longenecker (Dutchess)

Kathryn Lynch (New York)

Sangram Majumdar (Kings)

Tracy Miller (Kings)

Patrick Neal (New York)

David Opdyke (Queens)

Paul Pagk (New York)

Luisa Rabbia (Kings)

Gretchen Scherer (Kings)

Emily Mae Smith (Kings)

Michael Stamm (Kings)

Amy Talluto (Ulster)

Leslie Wayne (New York)

Deborah Zlotsky (Albany)



Abbesi Akhamie (Kings)

Jessica Beshir (New York)

Ira Eduardovna (Kings)

Fernando Frias de la Parra (Kings)

Brent Green (Ulster)

Devin Horan (Kings)

Haisi Hu (New York)

Hannah Jayanti (Kings)

Steffani Jemison (Kings)

Ekwa Msangi (Kings)

Shayok Mukhopadhyay (Westchester)

Iva Radivojevic (Kings)

Jessie Jeffrey Dunn Rovinelli (Kings)

Lynne Sachs (Kings)

Fern Silva (Kings)

Sasha Wortzel (Kings)


*Deutsche Bank Fellow

**Gregory Millard Fellows, made possible with the support of the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs