News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Newly Formed Holt-Smithson Foundation Names Inaugural Director

The newly formed Holt-Smithson Foundation has announced the appointment of Lisa Le Feuvre as its first executive director. Through public service, the foundation will strive to increase awareness of artists Nancy Holt’s and Robert Smithson’s creative legacies.

“Lisa Le Feuvre brings the perfect combination of scholarship and experience, and a passion for creative inquiry that is consistent with the spirit of Holt and Smithson,” said board president Matthew Coolidge, the founder of the Center for Land Use Development in Los Angeles.

Le Feuvre joins the foundation from the Henry Moore Institute in the United Kingdom—the research arm of the Henry Moore Foundation—where she has served as head of sculpture studies since 2010. She has previously held curatorial roles at London’s National Maritime Museum, the Serpentine Gallery, and Tate Britain. She is currently a member of the 2018 Turner Prize Selection Committee and is a non-executive director of Book Works.

The foundation’s endowment draws from both Holt’s and Smithson’s estates. Currently based in Santa Fe, New Mexico, the organization aims to honor the artists’ methods of exploring mankind’s relationship to the planet. Holt and Smithson each produced numerous large-scale environmental works. Holt is perhaps best known for her Sun Tunnels, 1973–76, in the Great Basin Desert, Utah, and Dark Star Park, 1970–84, in Arlington County, Virginia. Smithson’s well-known Earthworks include Spiral Jetty, 1970, in Great Salt Lake, Utah, which was recently made a state landmark; Broken Circle/Spiral Hill, 1971, in Emmen, the Netherlands; and Amarillo Ramp, 1973, in Amarillo, Texas.