News Register for our weekly news digest here.

NYFA Announces 2017 Fellows

The New York Foundation for the Arts has announced the recipients and finalists of its annual NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowship program. The organization awarded a total of $644,000 to ninety-five New York–based artists, including three collaborations, in the following disciplines: Crafts/Sculpture, Digital/Electronic Arts, Nonfiction Literature, Poetry, and Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts.

This year’s recipients and finalists were selected from a pool of 2,744 applicants by discipline-specific peer panels. Each fellow will receive $7,000 in unrestricted funds. Since it was launched in 1985, the program has awarded more than $31 million to more than 4,400 artists.

“Being an artist is hard work, and a struggle for many; a recent report by New York City’s Department of Cultural Affairs found that 40 percent of the artists surveyed cannot afford art supplies and tools,” said Michael L. Royce, executive director of NYFA. “This sobering figure is one of the reasons why we are proud to support artists across New York State with unrestricted grants.”

A complete list of the fellows is as follows:

Sharif Bey (Onondaga)
Robert Bittenbender (Kings)
Kathy Butterly (New York)
Jack Elliott (Tompkins)
Hiroyuki Hamada (Suffolk)
Dave Hardy (Kings)
Valerie Hegarty (Kings)
Sophie Hirsch (Kings)
Jerome Johnson (Kings)
Robin Kang (Nassau)
Zaq Landsberg (Kings)
China Marks (Queens)
Melanie McLain (Queens)
Shari Mendelson (Schoharie)
Toshiaki Noda (New York)
Kambui Olujimi (New York)
Peter Opheim (Kings)
Jim Osman (Kings)
Lina Puerta (New York)
Patrick Robideau (Niagara)
Diana Shpungin (Kings)
Elise Siegel (New York)
Kurt Steger (Kings)
Joanne Ungar (Kings)

Digital/Electronic Arts
Merche Blasco (Kings)
Jeremy Couillard (Queens)
João Enxuto and Erica Love (New York)
LoVid (Suffolk)
Melinda Hunt (Westchester)
Zohar Kfir (Kings)
Jen Liu (Richmond)
Amelia Marzec (Kings)
Eva and Franco Mattes (New York)
Joseph Morris (Kings)
Ziv Schneider (Queens)
Pascual Sisto (Kings)
Christopher Woebken (New York)

Nonfiction Literature
Humera Afridi (New York)
Jennifer Baker (Queens)
Ava Chin (New York)
Mitchell Jackson (New York)
T Kira Madden (New York)
Alia Malek (Kings)
Joseph Osmundson (New York)
Brice Particelli (New York)
Ross Perlin (Queens)
Hugh Ryan (Kings)
Aurvi Sharma (New York)
Neda Toloui-Semnani (Kings)
Kelly Tsai (Kings)
Alejandro Varela (Kings)
Katherine Zoepf (New York)

Desiree C. Bailey (Queens)
Jennifer Bartlett (Kings)
Wo Chan (Kings)
Alan Davies (New York)
Joey De Jesus (Queens)
Betsy Fagin (Kings)
Jameson Fitzpatrick (Kings)
Harmony Holiday (New York)
Jake Matkov (Kings)
Uche Nduka (Kings)
Allyson Paty (Kings)
Tommy Pico (Kings)
Jayson Smith (Kings)
Ann Stephenson (New York)
Bridget Talone (Queens)
Michelle Whittaker (Suffolk)
Samantha Zighelboim (New York)

Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts
Richard Barlow (Otsego)
Alex Barry (New York)
Natalie Beall (Dutchess)
Thalia Chantziara (New York)
Amanda Church (New York)
Amy Cutler (Kings)
Terry Conrad (Saratoga)
Donna Diamond (Bronx)
Mark Dion (New York)
Mark Ferguson (Kings)
Johanna Goodman (Rockland)
Ellen Grossman (New York)
Takuji Hamanaka (Kings)
Amir Hariri (Queens)
Carla Rae Johnson (Westchester)
Cotter Luppi (Columbia)
Kymia Nawabi (Kings)
Susan Rostow (New York)
Jennifer Schmidt (Kings)
Charlotte Schulz (Westchester)
Sean Sullivan (Ulster)
Dannielle Tegeder (New York)
Scott Teplin (Kings)