Ruben Östlund

Ruben Östlund Wins Palme d’Or for The Square at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival

The Palme d’Or was awarded to director Ruben Östlund for The Square (2017), a parodic take on the art world, writes Andrew Pulver of The Guardian.

Diane Kruger received the best actress award for Fatih Akin’s In the Fade (2017), and Sofia Coppola won a best director award for her adaptation of Thomas Cullinan’s 1966 novel The Beguiled. (Coppola is only the second woman in the history of the film festival to win best director—the first was Russian director Yuliya Solntseva for her movie The Story of the Flaming Years [1961].)

Lynne Ramsay’s You Were Never Really Here (2017), a film about sex trafficking, received an award for best screenplay. Joaquin Phoenix, who stars in the film, was recognized as best actor. Director Léonor Serraille’s Jeune Femme (Young Woman) (2017) won the Camera d’Or for best first film, while Qiu Yang received the best short film award for his fifteen-minute A Gentle Night (2017).