Charles Schwab, Robert Fisher, and Diana Nelson.

SFMOMA Board Appoints New Leadership, Adds Trustees

The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art has announced a major leadership transition in its board of trustees. Charles R. Schwab, who has served as board chair since 2007 and has led the institution through a decade of major growth, which culminated in the opening of the newly expanded museum in 2016, will be succeeded by Robert J. Fisher, who previously served as president. Diana L. Nelson, the current vice chair, will assume the role of president, and Charles M. Collins will take over the role of vice chair. These changes will be effective as of July 1.

“Chuck has been a tremendous role model, leader, and friend for the past decade,” Fisher said. “His enthusiasm, support and commitment have taken us from a very good museum to one thriving on the global stage. He leaves big shoes to fill, and I hope I can add to his legacy as the next chair of SFMOMA, as well as continue the dedication and love of the institution that began with my parents.” Schwab will remain on the board as a trustee and will continue to chair the museum’s investment committee.

In addition, the institution has welcomed Kathryn A. Hall, Julie Mehretu, Gina Peterson, and Komal Shah to the board of trustees. Mehretu joins artists Rosana Castrillo Díaz and Jeff Wall, and will serve a three-year term. Collectors Vicki and Kent Logan, who have donated more than 330 works to SFMOMA since 1997, have also joined the board as honorary trustees. From 2012 to 2013, the museum presented the exhibition “Don’t Be Shy, Don’t Hold Back: The Logan Collection at SFMOMA,” featuring highlights from the Logans’ gift.