News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Sharjah Art Foundation Announces 2017 Biennial Prize Winners

The Sharjah Art Foundation has announced the winners of the 2017 Sharjah Biennial Prize. The thirteenth edition of the event runs through June 12, 2017. The biennial’s curator, Christine Tohme, invited seventy artists to respond to the keywords water, crops, earth, and culinary for this year’s exhibition. The jurors for the prize were Adriano Pedrosa, artistic director of Museu de Arte de São Paulo Assis Chateaubriand; Yousif Aydabi, the cultural advisor at the Dr. Sultan Al Qasimi Centre for Gulf Studies in Sharjah; and N'Goné Fall, an independent curator and cofounder of GawLab Collective in Dakar.

The winners are Dineo Seshee, for the installation +/- 1791 (Monument to the Haitian Revolution 1791), 2017; İnci Eviner, for a pair of videos, one of which is Beuys Underground, 2017, a commission for this biennial; Uriel Orlow, for Theatrum Botanicum, 2016; and the late Ali Jabri, for his lesser-known series of collage works, such as “Untitled,” 1989–92. Each artist will be given funding for the creation of a new work. Jabri’s prize will go toward the preservation of his oeuvre.

The Sharjah Biennial has been introducing contemporary art to the UAE for more than twenty years. The biennial has commissioned, produced, and presented large-scale public installations, performances, and films since 1993, offering artists from the region an international platform for exhibition and experimentation.