Short List for $100,000 Future Generation Art Prize Announced

The Pinchuk Art Center today announced the twenty-one artists short-listed for the fourth edition of the Future Generation Art Prize, established by the Victor Pinchuk Foundation in Kiev in 2009.

The worldwide contemporary art prize was created to discover, recognize, and give long-term support to a future generation of artists. Any artist age thirty-five or younger working anywhere in the world in any medium is eligible for consideration.

The short-listed artists were chosen by an international selection committee comprising Elise Atangana, an independent curator and producer in Paris; Daniela Castro, an independent curator and writer based in São Paulo,who also served as chair of the committee; Björn Geldhof, artistic director of the Pinchuk Art Center and the Yarat Contemporary Art Space in Baku; Shabbir Hussain Mustafa, the senior curator of the National Gallery Singapore; Diana Nawi, associate curator of the Pérez Art Museum Miami; Anna Smolak, curator; and Gaia Tedone, independent curator and Ph.D. candidate at the Centre for the Study of the Networked Image at London’s South Bank University.

The short list, selected from 4,421 entries by artists from 138 countries, is as follows:

Nijdeka Akunyili Crosby
Iván Argote
Firelei Báez
Dineo Seshee Bopape
Phoebe Boswell
Vivian Caccuri
Sol Calero
Asli Çavuşoğlu
Vajiko Chachkhiani
Carla Chaim
Christian Falsnaes
EJ Hill
Andy Holden
Li Ran
Ibrahim Mahama
Rebecca Moss
Sasha Pirogova
Kameelah Janan Rasheed
Martine Syms
Kemang Wa Lehulere
Open Group
Stanislav Turina
Anton Varga