News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Spring/Break Art Show Announces Seventh Edition Venue and Curators

Spring/Break Art Show has announced that its seventh edition will take place from March 6 to March 12 at 4 Times Square in Manhattan, and will include more than one hundred curators from Tokyo, Mexico City, Santo Domingo, Johannesburg, Toronto, and Lagos, as well as New York City and Los Angeles. Participants will address the fair’s “Stranger Comes to Town” theme, which is based on the proverb “There are only two stories: a hero goes on a journey; a stranger comes to town.” Organized by The They Co., which was founded by Andrew Gori and Ambre Kelly in 2009, Spring/Break Art Show offers free experimental exhibition spaces for independent curators to exhibit works by emerging and mid-career artists. Like many of its past editions, this year’s Spring/Break Art Show will occur during the same week as the Armory Show.

This will be the second year in a row that 4 Times Square—formerly known as the Condé Nast Building—will host the annual exhibition platform, which is held at atypical New York spaces. According to the fair, this year’s exhibition will explore “foreign-ness, migration, assimilation, and the alchemy of the Other through territory, technology, and time."

Here is the full list of participating curators: 

Adam Parker Smith
Alaina Simone
Alana-lynn Berglund, Austin Pratt, Tom Wixo Alexandra Fanning, Alison Sirico, Ambre Kelly, and Andrew Gori
Amanda McDonald Crowley
Amy Kisch
Anastasia Voron
Andrea Morena and Kaitlyn Ward
Anna Kustera
Anna Zorina Gallery
Anthony Haden Guest
Arielle de St. Phalle and Taylor Ro
ArtBridge Projects
Asha Veal Brisebois
Azu Nwagbogu
Baris Gokturk
Brigitte Mulholland
Brooke Nicholas
C. Finley
Cade Tompkins Projects
Calli Moore
Calvin Burton
Castor Gallery
Chad Stayrook and Julia Oldham
Ché Morales
Christine Miele
Dan Halm
Danny Orondorff
David Packer
Debbi Kenote, Til Will, Devra Freelander, Hilliary Gabryel, and Claire Lachow
Diana Ayala-Carrillo
Dustin Yellin
Emily Davidson and Sam Strand
Equity Gallery
Eric Sutphin
Erik Patton
Erin Joyce
Fiona Eltz
Gabriel Barcia-Colombo
Gavin Runzel
Gregorio Cámara
Harvestworks/Thoughtworks Arts
Heather Bhandari, Courtney Colman, and Steven Sergiovanni
Helen Toomer
Henriette Noermark
Howl! Happening
Ian Etter, InLiquid Art + Design
Irina Makarova, Alison Sirico, Isaac Aden, and Joseph Ayers
Jac Lahav
Jacob Rhodes, Alissa Polan, Kristen Racaniello, and Rachel Frank
Jerelyn Huber
Jessica Mensch and Rachelle Dang
Jessica Wallen
John Wolf
Justin DeDemko
Kara Brooks
Kari Adelaide and Max Razdow
Karin Bravin
Katya Valevich
Koki Arts
Kristin Sanken
Ksenia M. Soboleva
Kyle Hittmeier
Laura Bloom
Laura O’Reilly, Alessandra DeBenedetti, and Regina Harsanyi
Lee Wells and Erica Ensminger
Liz Collins
Lynn Sullivan and Dominic Nurre
Mari Spirito
Maria Dubon and Mary Ehni
Maria Kozak and Jane LeFarge Hamill
Marie-Salomé Peyronnel
Mark Joshua Epstein + Will Hutnik
Marly Hammer and John Richie
Martina D’Amato and Elizabeth Fodde-Reguer
Maureen Sullivan and John Zinonos
Melinda Wang
Michael Buckland
Michael Gaughran
Naomi Lev
Natalie Kates and Amanda Uribe
Natasha Becker
New Art Projects
Nicholas Cueva
Nicolas Ulloa
Norte Maar
Oklahoma Contemporary
Patrice Helmar
Patrick Mohundro, Anna Tome, Emily Janowick, and Jack Barrett
Queenie Wong
Ramsay Kolber
Raphael Guilbert
Rémy and Kelsey Bennett
Sara Driver
Sarah Potter
Sarah Walko
Silas von Morisse Gallery
Son Kit and Sharina Gordon
Trevor King and Clara McClenon
The Untitled Space
Vivian Chui
Wai Ying Zhao
Yulia Topchiy
Zahra Sherzad