News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Thirty-Third São Paulo Bienal Names Participating Artists

The São Paulo Bienal announced today the artists whose work will be exhibited in its thirty-third edition, “Affective Affinities.” Curated by Gabriel Pérez-Barreiro, the biennial will consist of seven group shows, rather than one large thematic exhibition. They will be curated by Alejandro Cesarco, Antonio Ballester Moreno, Claudia Fontes, Mamma Andersson, Sofia Borges, Waltércio Caldas, and Wura-Natasha Ogunji.

The new exhibition model will highlight the different ways that artists approach curating. “While some have adopted strategies that are more museum-like and historical, selecting existing artworks, others have proposed shows that present exclusively commissioned pieces, establishing a sort of collective curatorship in a horizontal process of artistic research,” explained Pérez-Barreiro. “The proposals are seven different examples of curatorial methodology.”

The projects and participating artists are as follows:

Mamma Andersson’s “Stargazer II”
Dick Bengtsson (Sweden)
Henry Darger (US)
Åke Hodell (Sweden)
Gunvor Nelson (Sweden)

Antonio Ballester Moreno’s “Sentido/Comum” (Common/Sense)
Andrea Büttner (Germany)
Mark Dion (US)
Friedrich Fröbel (Germany)
Rafael Sánchez-Mateos Paniagua (Spain)

Sofia Borges​’s “A Infinita História das Coisas ou o Fim da Tragédia do um” (The Infinite History of Things or the End of the Tragedy of One)
Leda Catunda (Brazil)
Sarah Lucas (UK)
Tal Isaac Hadad (France)
Jennifer Tee (Holland)

Waltércio Caldas’s exhibition
Victor Hugo (France)
Jorge Oteiza (Spain)
Vicente do Rego Monteiro (Brazil)

Alejandro Cesarco​’s “Aos Nossos Pais” (To Our Parents)
Louise Lawler (US)
Cameron Rowland (US)
Sturtevant (US)

Claudia Fontes’s “O Pássaro Lento” (The Slow Bird)
Elba Bairon (Bolivia)
Daniel Bozhkov (Bulgaria)
Sebastián Castagna (Argentina)
Roderick Hietbrink (Holland)
Žilvinas Landzbergas (Lithuania)
Ben Rivers (UK)
Pablo Martín Ruiz (Argentina)
Paola Sferco (Argentina)
Katrín Sigurdardóttir (Iceland)

Wura-Natasha Ogunji’s “Sempre, Nunca” (Always, Never)
ruby onyinyechi amanze (Nigeria)
Lhola Amira (South Africa)
Youmna Chlala (Lebanon)
Mame-Diarra Niang (France)
Nicole Vlado (US)