News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Thoma Foundation Reveals First-Ever Digital Arts Writing Award Winners

The Carl and Marilynn Thoma Art Foundation has revealed the recipients and the selection committee for its inaugural arts writing fellowship awards in the digital arts. An established and an emerging writer “who have contributed significantly to the field of writing in the digital arts” were selected.

Jon Ippolito, professor of new media and director of the digital curation program at the University of Maine, received the $30,000 award for an established arts writer. From 1991 to 2006, he was associate curator of Media Arts at the Guggenheim Museum. He’s coauthored the books At the Edge of Art (2006) and Re-collection (2014).

Meanwhile Joanne McNeil received $15,000 for an emerging arts writer. A resident at Eyebeam in 2014 and a 2012 USC Annenberg/Getty arts journalism fellow, McNeil has contributed to Dissent, Frieze, and Domus, and has a forthcoming book with the Walker Art Center.

The two were chosen from twenty-one nominations by a committee that included Michael Connor, Rudolf Frieling, and Christiane Paul.