David Levinthal, Fort Apache, 2018.

Tribeca Film Festival Announces 2018 Artist Award Program Participants

The Tribeca Film Festival has named the participants in the event’s 2018 Artists Award Program, which was established as a platform for artists to directly support and celebrate other creative professionals. Each year, artists are invited to donate works that will then be presented as awards to filmmakers who are being honored by the festival, which kicks off on April 18.

The artists who are contributing prizes this year are Ghada Amer, Meghan Boody, Nancy Dwyer, Reza Farkhondeh, Stephen Hannock, Eddie Kang, David Levinthal, John F. Simon Jr, Joan Snyder, and Julia Wachtel. Their works will be displayed at the Tribeca Film Festival Hub at 50 Varick Street throughout the duration of the event and will be given to filmmakers at an awards ceremony on Thursday, April 26.

The complete list of artworks serving as awards is as follows:

Ghada Amer & Reza Farkhondeh, For Wonder Woman, 2006
Nora Ephron Award

Meghan Boody, Flash (To the tender flesh it went), 2008
Best New Narrative Director

Nancy Dwyer, Miracle, 2017
Storyscapes Award

Stephen HannockThe Lady of Shalott, Cool Evening, 2018
Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature

Eddie Kang, Learning How to Paint/Make A Wish, 2017
Best Narrative Short

David Levinthal, Fort Apache, 2018
Best Documentary Short

John F. Simon Jr., White Bowl, 2018
Albert Maysles New Documentary Director Award

Joan Snyder, Can We Turn Our Rage to Poetry, 1985
Best International Narrative Feature

Julia WachtelTehran, Iran (June 6, 1989), 1990
Best Documentary Feature