News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Twenty-First Biennale of Sydney Reveals Participating Artist List

The Biennale of Sydney has announced that seventy artists will participate in its twenty-first edition. Titled “Superposition: Equilibrium & Engagement,” the Biennale opens March 16 and runs through June 11, 2018.

“The artists in the Twenty-First Biennale of Sydney have been chosen to offer a panoramic view of how opposing interpretations can come together in a state of equilibrium,” artistic director Mami Kataoka said. “The history of the people of Sydney collectively reflects the history of the world in the twentieth century, in particular the movements and migration of people and cultures away from conflict. My hope is that the artworks in this Biennale will serve as a catalyst for thought for all of us.”

The complete list of artists is as follows:

Julian Abraham ‘Togar’
Eija-Liisa Ahtila
Ai Weiwei
Brook Andrew
Sydney Ball
Marc Bauer
Oliver Beer
Michaël Borremans
Miriam Cahn
Francisco Camacho Herrera
Chen Shaoxiong
Tiffany Chung
Abraham Cruzvillegas
Roy de Maistre
Marjolijn Dijkman
Lili Dujourie
Luciano Fabro
Sam Falls
Marco Fusinato
Anya Gallaccio
Ryan Gander
Geng Xue
Simryn Gill
Marlene Gilson
Tanya Goel
Laurent Grasso
N.S. Harsha
Hsu Chia-Wei
Ami Inoue
Mit Jai Inn
Sosa Joseph
Jacob Kirkegaard
Yvonne Koolmatrie
Suzanne Lacy
Tuomas Aleksander Laitinen
Liza Lou
Nicholas Mangan
Cercle d’Art des Travailleurs de Plantation Congolaise with Baloji and Renzo Martens
Prabhavathi Meppayil
Kate Newby
Trinh Thi Nguyen
Tom Nicholson
Noguchi Rika
Ciara Phillips
Tawatchai Puntusawasdi
Koji Ryui
Sa Sa Art Projects
Khaled Sabsabi
Yasmin Smith
Dimitar Solakov
Michael Stevenson
Svay Sareth
Rayyane Tabet
Akira Takayama
Maria Taniguchi
Esme Timbery
George Tjungurrayi
Su-Mei Tse
Martin Walde
Roy Wiggan
Riet Wijnen
Nicole Wong
Wong Hoy Cheong
Yukinori Yanagi
Haegue Yang
Jun Yang
Yarrenyty Arltere Artists
Samson Young