Deana Haggag

United States Artists Announces Deana Haggag as President and CEO

United States Artists announced today that Deana Haggag, the executive director of the Contemporary—a nomadic, noncollecting art museum based in Baltimore—will lead the organization as its new president and CEO. She will officially take up the position on April 3.

“It’s an exciting time for USA; all the more so with Deana coming on board,” board chairman Steven Oliver said. “The continued growth of both our financial and human resources represents not only the tremendous success USA has had thus far, but also the role it will play going forward. This promises to be an uncertain time for the support of the arts. I can’t think of anyone more committed, eager, or prepared than Deana to lead USA in this endeavor.”

Prior to Haggag’s term as executive director of the Contemporary, which she joined in 2013, she served as curator in residence at Baltimore’s Gallery CA. She is currently on the board of the Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance and the council of Common Field. Haggag also lectures extensively, consults on various public art initiatives, contributes to cultural publications, and teaches at institutions such as Towson University and Johns Hopkins University. She earned her master’s in curatorial practice from the Maryland Institute College of Art and her bachelor’s from Rutgers University–Newark.

“I’m honored to have been chosen to lead this incredible organization,” Haggag said. “USA’s mission is more important now than ever. USA Fellows embody the creativity, passion, diversity, and talent of this country, and the incredible heights American artists are capable of. It will be a privilege to support them in their future efforts, and to celebrate what they’ve already accomplished.”

USA is nearing completion of its $20 million operations endowment campaign. The endowment consists of an initial five-year, $10 million challenge grant from the Ford Foundation, which has been matched by million-dollar grants from the Rockefeller Foundation, the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, as well as private donors.