United States Artists Announces Fifty Fellowships for 2009

United States Artists, the national grant-making and advocacy organization, announced the recipients of fifty USA Fellowships for 2009, totaling $2.5 million, at a celebration Monday night at the Broad Stage in Santa Monica, California. Winners in the visual arts include Diana Al-Hadid, Terry Allen, Vija Celmins, Anthony Hernandez, Joan Jonas, Kim Jones, Martin Mazorra and Michael Houston, Dave McKenzie, Judy Pfaff, and Dario Robleto. Winners in dance include Tere O’Connor and Reggie Wilson, among others.

The event marks the fourth consecutive year of the USA Fellows program, which annually awards fifty unrestricted grants of fifty thousand dollars to artists of all disciplines from across the country. The USA Fellows for 2009 hail from eighteen states and range in age from twenty-eight to eighty-two.

The evening also paid tribute to Eli and Edythe Broad for their leadership in and generosity to the arts in Los Angeles and nationwide. When USA launched in 2006, the Broads were the first to support the USA Fellows Program with a one-million-dollar contribution from the Broad Art Foundation. In total, they have underwritten twenty USA Broad Fellows, including five that were announced Monday night. Monday’s event also celebrated a one-million-dollar grant from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, based in Miami, to support USA Knight Fellowships for artists who live in the twenty-six cities where the Knight brothers owned newspapers.


Neil Denari, USA California Community Foundation Fellow, Los Angeles
Laura Kurgan, USA Rockefeller Fellow, New York

Rick Lowe, USA Booth Fellow, Houston
Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy, USA Target Fellows, Pasadena, California

Perry Eaton, USA Rasmuson Fellow, Anchorage
Delores Lewis Garcia and Emma Lewis Mitchell, USA Gift of Art Fellows, San Fidel, New Mexico

Beth Lo, USA Hoi Fellow, Missoula, Montana

Dona Look, USA Windgate Fellow, Algoma, Wisconsin

Mary Shaffer, USA Simon Fellow, Taos, New Mexico

Kukuli Velarde, USA Knight Fellow, Philadelphia

Sophiline Cheam Shapiro, USA Knight Fellow, Long Beach, California

Lin Hixson and Matthew Goulish, USA Ziporyn Fellows, Chicago
Hokulani Holt-Padilla, USA Ford Fellow, Wailuku, Hawaii

Tere O'Connor, USA Rockefeller Fellow, New York

Reggie Wilson, USA Prudential Fellow, Brooklyn, New York

Ai, USA Ford Fellow, Stillwater, Oklahoma 

Nilo Cruz, USA Fontanals Fellow, New York

Gilbert Hernandez, USA Rasmuson Fellow, Las Vegas
Antonya Nelson, USA Simon Fellow, Las Cruces, New Mexico

Sapphire, USA Prudential Fellow, Brooklyn, New York

Justin Torres, USA Rolón Fellow, Iowa City
Brian Turner, USA Hillcrest Fellow, Fresno, California 

Kevin Young, USA James Baldwin Fellow, Belmont, Massachusetts

Cruz Angeles, USA Simon Fellow, New York

Charles Burnett, USA Broad Fellow, Los Angeles
Scott Carrier, USA Rasmuson Fellow, Salt Lake City
Heather Courtney, USA Ford Fellow, Austin, Texas

Elizabeth Meister and Dan Collison, USA Donnelley Fellows, Three Oaks, Michigan

Renée Tajima-Peña, USA Broad Fellow, Los Angeles

Rahim AlHaj, USA Ford Fellow, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Cyro Baptista, USA Walker Fellow, Tenafly, New Jersey

Ella Jenkins, USA Collins Fellow, Chicago
Danongan Kalanduyan, USA Broad Fellow, San Francisco
Hannibal Lokumbe, USA Cummings Fellow, Bastrop, Texas

Lionel Loueke, USA Prudential Fellow, North Bergen, New Jersey

Daniel Plonsey, USA Broad Fellow, El Cerrito, California

Dan Hurlin, USA Prudential Fellow, New York

Ruth Maleczech, USA Gracie Fellow, New York

John O'Neal, USA Prudential Fellow, New Orleans
Anna Deavere Smith, USA Berresford Fellow, New York 

Diana Al-Hadid, USA Rockefeller Fellow, Brooklyn, New York

Terry Allen, USA Oliver Fellow, Santa Fe, New Mexico

Vija Celmins, USA Broad Fellow, New York

Anthony Hernandez, USA Hillcrest Fellow, Los Angeles
Joan Jonas, USA Friends Fellow, New York

Kim Jones, USA Rockefeller Fellow, New York 

Martin Mazorra and Michael Houston, USA Ford Fellows, Brooklyn, New York

Dave McKenzie, USA Rockefeller Fellow, Brooklyn, New York

Judy Pfaff, USA Rasmuson Fellow, Kingston, New York 

Dario Robleto, USA Rasmuson Fellow, Houston