Virginia’s Greater Reston Arts Center Appoints Lily Siegel as Executive Director and Curator

Virginia’s Greater Reston Arts Center announced today that Lily Siegel has been appointed executive director and curator. She will take up the post on December 5.

Robert Goudie, GRACE board chair, said that Siegel “brings outstanding academic achievement, a passion for contemporary art, a demonstrated ability to raise money for and manage significant projects, and a national perspective, relationships, and experiences.” He added, “She’s exactly the right person to lead us forward in our determination to become an even more impactful presence in the metropolitan area’s visual arts landscape.”

Siegel has served as curatorial assistant at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles, assistant curator of modern and contemporary art at the High Museum in Atlanta, and associate curator at the Contemporary Jewish Museum in San Francisco. In the spring of 2018, she will present an exhibition of works by the late artist Moira Dryer at the Phillips Collection in Washington, DC. Siegel received her bachelor’s degree from the University of California, San Diego, and her master’s degree in modern art history, theory, and criticism from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

“I am honored by this opportunity and look forward to getting to work. The chance to lead this dynamic period of growth and extend GRACE’s already well-established reputation for quality is a compelling combination for me,” Siegel said. “GRACE has a rich history in the community. As the community grows—with the coming of Metrorail and extension of the DC metro area—so will GRACE.”

The Silver Line project—a twenty-three-mile extension of DC’s Metrorail system—was initiated in July 2014. Five new stations are being added to the rail service, four in Tysons and one in Reston. Phase two of the project’s construction is slated to be completed in the next five years, and the opening date of the Reston station will be determined by the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority.